| Author |
Message |

sharon ow (sharonow)
New member Username: sharonow
Post Number: 1 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 10, 2009 - 11:54 pm: |
|
Hi all I am currently 2 mths into a 12 mths contract job, reason being it was a contract job is because headcount has been freezed when the staff resigned. During the interview back then, the hr and the hiring mgr was saying that once they hv the headcount, they will convert me to a perm. now two months into the job, another colleague in my dept resigned, and the replacement that they hire turn out to be a perm headcount. and besides this headcount, there are two more perm staff that they are going to hire (in another dept)in the coming month...so means what? do u think i will still hv a chance for conversion to perm? how come now they can hire perm, but I can still a contract....shouldn't my direct boss try to do a conversion for me to perm? whats ur views on this? I am strong interest in the current contract job but the env and prospects arent there. not sure is it cos i am just a contract staff, hence my direct boss treat me quite lousy....eg: documents that she wanted to pass to me, instead of putting in my in tray or desk, she just throw it on my chair....i hv never encounter picking docs from my chair before...feel so lousy at times.... at present, i do have a perm job offer, however the title and salary is slightly lower than the current contract job that i hv, however this position has a better prospects, may have chances of promotion in one to two years' time...job is less routine, more challenging and as compared to the contract job, i hv lesser interest in....but if the current contract job have no chances of conversion...maybe joining this co will be ideal? Please kindly advise.....in a dilemna now... Thanks |

Hei Bee Hiam (alcifertoh)
Intermediate Member Username: alcifertoh
Post Number: 2922 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 1:22 am: |
|
Well I'll say go for the one with better prospect. A thing about mnc is that they tend to "forget" about you. And noticing this in your working environment is a very important factor. Your direct boss's ability to achieve for your and guide you to progress. What you had mentioned is a common trend I observed even in the practise of my own company. They hire you on contractual basis. And when the head count is release, management team will just go ahead to hire a perm staff as priority(it makes it more attractive to offer a perm position) than to convert current staffs into the position. You can try your luck to wait for your contract to expire or wait for the offer to come in. But likely I would say that you might be wasting your time. If you do have something better, just go for it. End of the day is your career that you are building. Rather than waiting for the chance to come to you, seek for it and seize it when it appears. Gain more knowledge and experience. Enhance your capability and end of the day, all this adds up to your port folio and contributes to your survivability. |

powder (powder)
Senior Member Username: powder
Post Number: 11186 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 1:29 am: |
|
sharon, A. what benefits do u get out of being a perm, compared to contract? if u explore it deeper and strip it down - u realise it's often just emotional... 1) sense of security (they can still terminate perm staff), 2) sense of belonging (u can still be an outcast even if perm), 3) fringe benefits (u can pay yourself and it's Cheap). B. to what extent do u understand the Prospects? u have intricate knowledge of the company and the progress, or u base on assumptions? is there a path mapped out or u Think u will progress in the way u think progress is made? are the prospects u assess, based on Position, Opportunities or Financials? C. why would the hiring of perm staff AFTER u, make u feel insecure... why would not converting u - make u worried? Shouldn't u be more worried abt being an average worker amongst the rest of your colleagues? cos honestly - if u're amongst the best, and u know u are, u dun need to worry abt security... they will need u more than u need them. end part 1. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11187 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 1:36 am: |
|
.... u are 2 months into a 12month contract, and already u are reading all these movements... Why? u're not a CEO, u're an employee, that means there's someone above u with a bigger picture and u're one of the staff without the big picture. When u're up there, a staff is a staff... u dun label them perm or contract nor see them differently, everyone is expected to perform and everyone can be terminated. smart bosses get rid of weak workers if they have to cut, they dun get rid of contract staff and choose to keep perm staff simply becos of this perm/contract status. this status only matters to pple at the lower rung who instead of working their way up, is fighting over stupid meaningless status like perm/contract in order to feel important and derive a sense of belonging. workers are workers - they are all 1 class... contract is not 2nd class and Only unintelligent pple who dun see big picture - think being perm is a big deal. end part 2. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11188 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 1:47 am: |
|
..... i Never join companies as a perm. the longest contract i look at is 3yrs, the shortest is on a 3mth rolling basis where it's understood to be renewed as long as neither the me nor the company give each other 3mths notice to leave. if u dun understand, let me help u see from another angle - the company is on contract TO me, and not the other way around. the reason why some employees stay at the bottom is becos they think and function like a hapless employee. and if u act this way, pple will treat u this way. the last 3 companies i have joined - have tried to tie me down to a minimum 3yr contract... i have never accepted one and i'm still on a rolling contract. WHY? becos the company is Insecure, not me. WHY? i tell u a very simple, logical and common-sense thing... IF u concentrate on performing, IF u keep focusing on doing a good job (whilst other pple waste time thinking of perm/contract... waste time on thinking abt prospects etc.. .waste time on low-level politics)... THEN u are very very very likely to progress Faster, Better than the rest. end part 3. |

Post Number: 2926 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 1:54 am: |
|
Bro, I do notice in regards of the trend TS mentioned over my place. The contract staffs themselves felt secondary to the perm staffs and the common thing which they always to talk about are the bonuses and fringe benefits. A practise that goes at my area on the sense of security of those on contract is they are the first to go if it comes to downsizing. Hence I notice cannot quite blame some of them if they are looking for the sense of "security" even though when the permed staffs are much more expensive to keep, they are still "protected" above the contractual ones. Probably it's the practise over my end. And the scenario I witness along the way of how most contractual staffs feel. However I do feel is end of the day, you move to achieve what you want. Like ya mentioned, why let the others label you as what you are when you obviously can achieve better. Much more on if you have a door open for better career growth, go for it. why brood over a tittle or position? What you are able to bring back at the end of the day is much more important. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11190 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 2:09 am: |
|
..... now we come to the most important part - PROSPECTS. it's a big word, and an important one. But let's be honest about this word and the pple who use it... let's get to the bottom of it! i have heard this word from primary school til today. no doubt it's an important word, but i want u to realise 1 very important thing... Prospect is... 1) an Opinion (often from hearsay than profound/intimate knowledge) 2) a Relative term to the person using it. ie if 5k is a good target to u, then the jobs that bring u upto max 7k has good prospects... if 20k is a good target to u, then the job tat brings u upto max 7k has poor prospects. 3) a Subjective term. ie if u wanna travel n see the world, an air steward has good prospects... if u wanna help pple, a social worker has good prospects... if u harbour Structured progress via academia, then civil service has good prospects... if u just want guaranteed Big money thru academia, then medical/dental/law has good prospects. 4) Whose Prospect? the prospect is with regards to who?.... isit You? isit the Industry? isit your course of study? isit good Now or isit good for the future in 5yrs' time? isit good after taking into account your personality/lifestyle/habits/needs? there's more, but what is a good prospects? u know - even having a good boss willing to let u understudy him - can be Good prospects... it's like a fast-track cos u're being groomed to be his righthand man. let me share with u my observation... Most times - pple around us who talk abt good prospects, seldom have Factual/Intimate knowledge of the true nature of the prospects... they just talk becos it is a nice topic to chat abt. even for me - i dun know enough abt u/your job to talk abt prospects, that's why i just talk abt the definition of prospect. i leave the rest to u. thing is... if u can't define Prospects, then u're in no position to judge if Either of the company has a better prospect. And if both companies are in a dying industry, then even if one has better prospect... both may be greying industries in another 10yrs. likewise if the industry is good, the propects are not gonna be very different. What makes the difference Most is - YOU. isit a dilemma? yes, but becos u Lack knowledge. NOT becos u have alot of knowledge of the 2-3 pple who came in as perm, not becos of the boss putting papers on your chair... all these are simply excuses created by your emotional state to justify the actions and thoughts u're having, instead of simply focusing and performing to your best ability and ensuring that u have earned that right to be in a higher postion. look, we're lazy pple in spore. we wanna be rewarded for good academics First, then we put in the work. we wanna be rewarded with High positions First, before we show that we are competent. we wanna be rewarded with Money First, before u justify the pay with our work. u dun believe me, just look around u... the only pple working hard First, are normally those given less opportunities. end part 4. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11191 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 2:23 am: |
|
in spore, most pple think... Good Academics => Good Job => Good Prospects => Good Pay => Good Future. in actual fact... Good Academics => Good Foundation. Good Foundation + Hard Work => Good Pay Advanced Knowledge + Harder Work => Good Future. 'Good Job' is missing cos it's a myth. the subconscious use of the term 'Good Job' has to do with lazy pple defining jobs they dun deserve but yet can land. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11192 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 2:30 am: |
|
yo HBH, 2 ways to look at it... those who go - how competent are they that they absolutely deserve to stay (pls dun confuse this with liking the person. look at their work, how nice they are doesn't matter) the good ones who are asked to leave - it's a true blessing to leave cos if they stayed in a company that can't see their competence, then they'd be wasting more years performing for a blind management. also, pple who feel superior by virtue of being a perm staff - obviously have nothing worthy to be superior abt other than THAT status. reminds me of the pple who go ooh and ahh over positions/designations. asst manager - "Wow!", manager = "Fwah!", Director= "Wahhhhhhhh....". pple forget a director can have income of only 5k, a manager can be drawing only 3k. pple ASSUME pay commensurates with designation... i think that is only true in the military/civil service. ps: reminds me of forummers who think tat the more posts they have, the better they are... |

Post Number: 2927 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 9:26 am: |
|
Nice people can be good friends but not neccessary good colleagues. Chasing after titles only is a blind trip. You can't use designations to ask for more pay but you can do so by proving your capabilities and what you can do. It's about your value. How much do you actually command and what is your worth? A good ba chor mee stall uncle can earn more than quite a handful of managers and even directors. But there are people who roll their eyes when they know that he is a hawker. You can be on contractual working somewhere but still performing and getting better than perm staffs elsewhere. My focus would be on not wasting your time on harping if you would be awarded the perm status or not rather than seeking your growth. If it is the status of perm position that you are looking for, there's already an opening for you. Hope that you do think otherwise. I do not want to comment of the stint just being 2 months only in your current company and if you mastered your job duties to "deserve" converting into a perm but you should not even be bothered in regards that they hire headcounts over the other departments. It's nothing in relation to you. Anyway, 2 months also abit short. Probabtion period normally is 3 months for below management and 6 months for management and above. |

Teddy Bear (mark78)
Member Username: mark78
Post Number: 1131 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 9:50 am: |
|
HBH, i am on diet...leh. why mention ba chor mee... in fact, lots of co are hiring temps but its good to master your job duties and seek higher grounds. Actually its good to have fancy title like director of such but its just for name sake. In fact, knowledge or speciality can sell yourself better then those names. i rather be a highly paid bar chor mee seller then a lowly paid director (got the wow effect on the name card) |

Post Number: 2930 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:02 am: |
|
Cos I never brought breakfast today and is craving for that now. The wow effect doesn't cost much... Just go international plaza reg a company and one can put whatever they like on the card. AD,MD,CEO,CFO,COO..... the list goes on. |

iris (its_fate)
Junior Member Username: its_fate
Post Number: 482 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:17 am: |
|
Alamak... Ba Chor Mee uncle aka Hawker can oso print their own name card.. Put anything U want... Remember a scene in Jack Neo's movie.. Hahahah,,, |

Teddy Bear (mark78)
Post Number: 1135 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:21 am: |
|
well infact i prefer not to waste $ to register a co. but use the money to buy good ba chor me.. ei.. hbh. when u mentioned international plaza i tot u are telling me that there is good bah chor me there... sigh... any nice ba chor me place @ central , red hill area... |

iris (its_fate)
Junior Member Username: its_fate
Post Number: 485 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:38 am: |
|
Ehhh... Fishball noodle can?? At ABC Market... |

Teddy Bear (mark78)
Post Number: 1139 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:42 am: |
|
i guess i am hallcinating. i am seeing noodles and those slices of mushrooms on my excel sheet.. chiam |

sharon ow (sharonow)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 10:31 pm: |
|
hi all thanks for your advices.. having a contract job at this moment made me insecure as the industry i am in is volatile and if the downturn worsen, contract staff will be the first to go... and in my ctt appt letter, it was stated subject to availability of job vacancy & performance, the co will offer a perm position to me... my point is since they have now open up perm headcounts, they no longer need to freeze headcounts n hire contract staff, shldnt my boss do something for me to convert me to perm? she mentioned before once she is happy with my performance, she could convert me....once they convert me, i will still need to go thru 6 mths probation, as compare to now, nothing has been done at all....and i am the only contract staff in the company.... 2 mths into the job, i am able to meet the job expectations and felt that i am coping and contributing well...however now the main gist is my boss...she tends to pick on me on nitty gritty stuff, she is very micro level and likes to harp on immaterial stuff...she give me a feeling that she is not ever to convert me at all even though i am performing well..... The current contract job that i am in now is very stagnant and routine, but i like the scope though is very limited, cos my boss is someone who doesnt like to delegate, everything impt she will handle it herself...i don see any career growth mapped out for me,......she just need someone to do the routine work for her.... the other job offer that i have currently comes with higher stress n job advancement....as the portfolio is more value added to my resume, but the consideration is if the current contract job isnt going to get me anywhere, why shld i still hold on to it? today i had a chance to ask my boss abt it, ...my boss just brush my qtn aside and say let's see after 6 mths ur performance, and she don see any difference btw perm or contract and she also added: make sure u meet the govt survey deadlines....oh is good performance linked to meeting just the govt survey deadlines? i am able to meet the deadlines and expectations of my core job scope...and I have contributed and shown lots of initative and capabilites on my job...isnt these more important? working under such boss will get me anywhere? if i cant fufill the govt surveys deadline, means i under performed? and have me terminated? |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11195 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 11:27 pm: |
|
is this an outlet or are u keen to work things out? i see the mention of vacancy and performance... objectively if there's vacancy and u didn't get the conversion, i would see it that your performance still doesn't warrant an immediate conversion. Besides, the conversion may take more time than the snap of a finger if there's some bureucratic reasons behind it, i dun think any company is at liberty to actually explain to u in entirety. as u said yourself, u're meeting job expectations... to me that's performing enough to stay where u are, and not go beyond with rewards... and definitely not so with only 2mths in the job. typical probation period is 3mths, i have never confirmed anyone within 3mths becos i seldom meet pple who go beyond their scope. this may sound abit 'uncle', but during my time i was always the 1st and last in the office, i stay to listen, observe and learn things that are beyond my scope. i NEVER expected any rewards from the company, cos i knew that the biggest beneficiary of these effort is none other than Myself. let's face it - nobody owes us a good future more than ourselves. my security comes from Self, not company... my rewards come from Self, not company... i had 6 bosses, i was either verbally abused, treated like an army recruit or totally invisible to them. BUT fact remains that i wanted to earn the money they earn, drive the cars they drive, live in the houses they live in. MY WANTS brought me there, MY WANTS make me learn, MY WANTS make me persevere, MY WANTS kept me going. what's your wants? end part 1. |

sharon ow (sharonow)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 11:48 pm: |
|
i know typically probation period is 3 mths or more, but i am only a contract staff now, 6mths later if she ever wan to convert me to a perm, does that mean i hv to go thru 6 mths probation again? initally when i first join, i would hv 3 days of handover from the gal who is leaving, but end up I don have any handover as she ask me to join 3 days later when she told the hr mgr that she will handover to me instead...but from the first day till now, i had no guidance nor any handover from my boss....and i took initative to pick up the work, refer to previous ones and burnt my weekends just to rush the deadlines n when i joined them , it was their year end, very very busy....but of course in the midst of fulfilling tight deadlines, i derived satisfaction fm it as every piece of work was independently learnt and completely by myself, without any help from my boss.. of course, i don expect any rewards from all these...but not to the extent of ill treatment from her wat do i want from this job? the job scope, which i feel will put me in a good stead for my next move....but my boss is driving me mad.... shld i persevere on? |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11196 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 11, 2009 - 11:59 pm: |
|
....... u know, 2mths... TWO MONTHS and u already feel u have the right to make a judgment and assessment of your boss, prospects and everything else seems to be rather negative at this point, u're that confident that it takes u 2 mths to size up the company and your bosses? U're either very good, or u're very spoilt. 2mths and u're sorta expecting pats on back and rewards... u know my last trainee volunteered to freeze his own low pay and requested to extend his probation for a further 6mths becos he felt he wasn't up to scratch. he remained a trainee for 12mths by his own accord. i took 2yrs before i was even treated like i was an employee. learn to be your greatest critic, cos if u are not aware of your own limitations and dishonest with your reason and expectations... then u will remain blind and clueless for the remainder of your career and working life. some pple dun get it, some managers dun get it, some 40yr-olds dun get it. i see alot of pple who blame bosses, companies, colleagues, prospects, academics (lack of)... when all they ever needed was to simply be honest with themselves - they just aren't good enough, or they have grown complacent. IF u feel u deserve a perm position, tell your boss to convert u else u leave. dun ASK, TELL them respectfully instead. IF u know u're good, then have the confidence to Speak. when i left the 1st job, i was counter-offered an additional 20% increment + 3mths bonus. when i left the 2nd job, i rejected a counter-offer of 40% increment and 12mths of additional bonus. Both times i quit with NO offers on the table waiting for me... i just left. DO u have the same conviction? if u have then dun be afraid abt job market and stuff or perm or contract. it does not matter if u Know u're good... but if u think u're good yet u dun have the guts to walk out, then obviously - u're not as certain of how good u really are. as u said "vacancy & performance"... IF u're good - vacancy is created for u. If u're good - pple will pay to headhunt and tie u down to Long contracts before u even perform. If u're good, u would want short contracts, not perm positions... becos it'll always leave your options open, and headhunters are just counting down towards the end of your contract... in the final 3mths, u will start getting calls... unfortunately, many like yourself and others... are living in a world where u've been conditioned to Wait or Hope for vacancies, but do not know how to create your own chances. many perform to the mark and expect rewards, when this world - u are rewarded for performing BEYOND wat's expected. if your boss dun go "wow", why should u be wowed by the company??? not many pple will be like my colleague who requested for pay-freeze and probation extension becos he knows he's not worth the rewards (which most pple EXPECT by default). becos of that and becos he has outperformed our expectations - we gave him beyond 12mths of bonus and an increment to match. had it been u, would u have left? 2mths... if i read u correctly it's 2mths... end part 2. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11197 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 12:03 am: |
|
look sharon, the reason why i'm being critical and harsh, is becos i want u to be absolutely honest with yourself and really dig deep. think beyond the norms, thin kwithout being affected by emotions and what others are getting... it's good that u feel that u're worth more than u're getting now, it means u have a sense of self-worth. the most important thing in having a sense of self-worth - is to have a True Honest sense in assessing your self-worth FIRST. once we've established this, then we can proceed to the next step - What to do next. end part 3. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11198 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 12:15 am: |
|
look sharon, the reason why i'm being critical and harsh, is becos i want u to be absolutely honest with yourself and really dig deep. think beyond the norms, thin kwithout being affected by emotions and what others are getting... it's good that u feel that u're worth more than u're getting now, it means u have a sense of self-worth. the most important thing in having a sense of self-worth - is to have a True Honest sense in assessing your self-worth FIRST. once we've established this, then we can proceed to the next step - What to do next. end part 3. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11199 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 12:20 am: |
|
on your post at 1148pm, just wanna say that u're right in going for the scope, but i think somewhere along the way u're distracted from it and now focusing on your boss instead. if my teacher is bad to me, and my grades suffer... who suffers more? my teacher or me? i'm pretty sure she'll still get her salary and her life doesn't change. u have lost your focus, i hope this simple logic can help u re-align your focus again... ps: u know those rebellious students who throw their studies away becos they didn't like the teacher? the point that they are trying to prove by not studying and giving up, is lost to the winds... cos nobody suffers but themselves, their parents and everyone who cares abt them. kinda spoilt, dun u think? |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11200 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 12:40 am: |
|
ok, next we'll discuss methods... but before that, do u have any penalty clauses in the contract for failure to complete the 12mths? |

kent & lois lane (clark)
Junior Member Username: clark
Post Number: 192 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 9:18 am: |
|
Leave if u are being appreciated. Stay if u are being appreciated. Simple as that. In the real world, nothing is ever so black and white. |

Teddy Bear (mark78)
Post Number: 1160 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 10:17 am: |
|
?? |

sharon ow (sharonow)
Post Number: 4 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 10:25 am: |
|
hi powder no, just need to give one month notice for this. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11201 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 11:08 am: |
|
if no penalty then that's in your favour. so i guess the bottomline question is not whether to stay in this company, or to leave for the other... if The Other company does not make u feel a strong urgency to wanna join them - then it's likely not really the best option yet... but becos of the appearance of this Other Option now... it sort of gives u a push to wanna choose. thing is, Unless it's really really what u want... u dun have to feel compelled to make a decision. INSTEAD, why not let it push u to find something else that fits u in almost all your preferred requisites? in the meantime, take the current company as a training in your ability to deal with a tough boss, yet the bonus is getting the scopes u want... doesn't sound as bad if u look at it that way. sometimes just a shift in perspective can change alot of things... but if your mind keeps going on and on to observe how boss is not-nice to u, then your mind will be transfixed on it negatively and staying is obviously gonna be painful. there's bound to be an option C out there... are u gonna be proactive to find it, or u waiting for option C to fall on your lap? |

Who? Me? (tomasulu)
Member Username: tomasulu
Post Number: 600 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 11:18 am: |
|
sharon, if all you care about is job security, it doesn't matter what your employment status is. what matters more is how important your role is to the org. and how well you perform in that role. e.g., a competent contracted office admin can have more job security than an incompetent permanent project manager whose project is scrapped. when steve jobs returned to apple, his title was "interim" ceo. you can't be more opposite to "permanent" than that. in my industry, it is very cool if you are on contract. that means you are earning a daily rate which adds up to much more than a monthly salary. having said that, most contract positions are dead-end roles. usually, hired guns are not expected to stay around so the roles don't come with career paths. |

sharon ow (sharonow)
Post Number: 5 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Saturday, June 13, 2009 - 9:54 pm: |
|
hi powder yeah, you are right...this perm option that comes along now doesn't really fit wat i wan, thats why i am still hesitating if i shld accept it... is tough to work under my current boss, my colleague actually caution me that my boss is someone who bear grudges and shldnt offend her, but i tink i already have offended her in someway or another... and heard that ever since she joined, we had the highest turnover since then...once 3 staff left together at one shot....cos she made them work till past midnight almost everyday..... i will look out proactively for Option C now.. thanks for all your advices....ur last posting on 12th Jun @ 1108am is exactly what i am thinking ;) |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11203 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, June 14, 2009 - 3:38 am: |
|
hi sharon, good to hear that... hope things will go well for u... in the meantime, try to disregard and counter the fear and negativity towards your boss, i really hope u can. cos often, when we get off on a bad start, the fear will cripple us and even if the person does something neutral - we might read the whole thing negatively... do note that there will be weak colleagues in the course of our working life who employ alot of politics to move ahead. one of the things they might do, is to instill u with fear or negate your perspective of your other colleagues and bosses... then in front of the boss they paint a negative picture of u... be careful. be extra careful with who u confide in, cos this is not uncommon... in the course of my working life, i have always avoided gossiping or giving any comments. i tend to walk away from topics tat will put me in a difficult position. thing is - if someone is an asshole, i think i know it can liao, i dun need to share with others nor do i feel a need to have an outlet. cos believe or not, things will travel back to u... when your colleague becomes your superior, or your boss becomes your subordinate, or the pple u gossiped abt becomes your client... some industries are small... u will meet each other often. so refrain as much as u can... i want u to remember One Thing... u have every chance of being in the top management, and even a COO nomatter how unqualified u may seem. i have seen office boys, PAs, IT personnel and retail assistants climb to the top positions of some very reputable MNCs, contrary to the local belief of academics and nothing else. and when one day u're really at the top, u would not want the little gossips and remarks u made from 10yrs ago - to come back and haunt u. take care...  |

sharon ow (sharonow)
Post Number: 6 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 15, 2009 - 8:09 pm: |
|
hi powder any suggestions as to the art of survival for the time being in my current company, now that i realised i have unknowingly offended my petty boss...and from the way she treat me, i know i am into losing end? i know i shld be focusing on my job instead, but some how her lousy treatment towards me really gets on my nerves though i tried my best not to be too emotional about it....... |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11211 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 - 12:10 am: |
|
hi sharon, the art of survival... firstly, recognise that the world does notrevolve around u... u need the company, u need the salary, u are Under the boss. if u have the luxury of leaving, remove yourself from the environment But make sure in doing so - u dun remove your dreams and goals from becoming a reality. as with the story of the teacher and the student, the student has more to lose... if u have more to lose, then dun feed your negative perspective. i'll be honest, if u were my subordinate, i would thrash it out with u before asking u to leave... i did this just a couple mths ago, i had a mr.nice guy employee who expected the world to return the niceness... if i'm training someone to be good and eqiping the person with the skils to be good in his work, i dun see the need to be nice. if i get on anyone's nerves and the person is under me - too bad. if u can't take my nonsense, u're never gonna survive the nonsense of the customers who i serve. it's not something that i explain, but it's abit like army training... if subordinates aren't hardenes and primed to deal with crap, then when crucial moments come - the subordinate is more concerned for his feelings and his ego, then the companiy's interest - then this person will not go far nor be competent to do the job. last thing i want is to have to sayang a subordinate when he meets with an unreasonable customer... ask yourself, who are u to say this at this point of your career, "some how her lousy treatment towards me really gets on my nerves" sorry, may not be wat u wanna hear, but the problem will always be u when u're not at the top. it's an unfortunate fact... hope u get was i mean. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11212 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 - 1:23 am: |
|
sori for the several typo, my kid was kinda climbing all over me... so was rushing to put her to sleep... 2nd paragraph line 2 - "equipping" line 3 - "skills" 3rd paragraph line 1 - "hardened" line 2 - "than the company's interest" last sentence - "hope u get wat i mean" cheers |

Green (green_tranquility)
Advanced Member Username: green_tranquility
Post Number: 9270 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 - 1:38 am: |
|
Powder, Your kid sleeps as late as u LOL. Learn from Papa. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 11213 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 - 1:54 am: |
|
yup she sleeps little like me... but she's a lady so gotta start teaching her on the importance of beauty sleep... |

whynot (whynot123)
New member Username: whynot123
Post Number: 12 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 15, 2009 - 2:06 pm: |
|
actually, dont ever believe that a contract worker will be converted to permanent employee. Most companies advertised "temp/contract to perm" to attract more candidates, but most of the time they very seldom convert contract to perm. |

whynot (whynot123)
New member Username: whynot123
Post Number: 13 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 15, 2009 - 2:10 pm: |
|
btw, titles are cheap. you can usually find big titles at the financial sectors/banking & government agencies. Easy example: fresh grads in banking sectors are given title "relationship managers", expected to give "advice" to investors like us when they themselves are fresh from univ & may not know what financial planning means. |

Supper-gal (supper_gal)
New member Username: supper_gal
Post Number: 25 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 02, 2009 - 8:54 pm: |
|
let me ask you wat if there is a penalty for the contract job offered? I was offered a 2 yrs contract job & if i were to quit within 2 yrs i need to compensate 2 months of my pay. Do u tink i shd accept?? I am just worried abt the penalty, the 2yrs contract is fine with me. Anyone pls advise, thanks. |

MiLo On e RoCkS (miloice)
Advanced Member Username: miloice
Post Number: 8259 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 02, 2009 - 10:10 pm: |
|
how to give general advise like this? look at the job at it is. Is it attractive for you? Worth the commitment or not? See if the price is right and its aligned with your goals. 2 yrs is a pretty short time in a position u enjoy but a pain for one u really hate. |

powder (powder)
Post Number: 12072 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 03, 2009 - 2:20 am: |
|
2mths ok mah... |
|