Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Wedding Discussion Forum - SingaporeBrides.com * Wedding Banquets * Sword Ceremony Wedding < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archivestarstar1200 21 6-17-05  2:09 pm
Archive through July 14, 2005Jacqueline60 7-14-05  7:17 pm
Archive through September 21, 2005starstar (starmed)60 9-21-05  5:48 pm
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Adel (adelene)
Username: adelene

Post Number: 192
Posted on Thursday, September 22, 2005 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi starstar,

Good to see you here. Can share your HM photo with me? Have not been to Taj.
PM me.

Claire Liu (claire_liu)
Username: claire_liu

Post Number: 198
Posted on Thursday, September 22, 2005 - 3:47 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

starstar,
btw, your JB and SG outfits different? Love the photos you took with the swordbearers

starstar (starmed)
Username: starmed

Post Number: 1256
Posted on Thursday, September 22, 2005 - 9:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Claire
it's the same just that the MU I had in JB is done by the JB MUA... look kinda of "wild"...keke...:p

ashie (ash_)
Username: ash_

Post Number: 711
Posted on Wednesday, September 28, 2005 - 3:57 am:   Edit Post Print Post

ivy,
hmm.. ok la at least ure progressing.. :-)

pierced,
not really.. mostly at the other side. hey ur email still got prob is it? dun really see ur posts over there now. how's preps? food tasting soon? oh yah, must share PS pics when ready too! :-)

Ivy (small_one)
Username: small_one

Post Number: 926
Posted on Monday, October 24, 2005 - 10:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hey gers,

forgot to update all of you abt my visit to Trueway Church.

I was very impressed abt the rate they are offering for both the venue and the reception area. The hall itself can seat 500pax and the reception area can hold up to 300 pax.

To me, it is more justifiable to secure the venue with Trueway. My hubby thought so too. We will be having another discussion when he returns from Vietnam this weekend. Hopefully, this will be a once and for all decision.

*I need a break from decision-making*

PoRkChOp (_piggy_)
Username: _piggy_

Post Number: 77
Posted on Monday, November 14, 2005 - 10:02 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi can I just check if anyone still have (or do they even exist in the first place) ... a set of procedures or to-do list for a military wedding?
I'm looking at possibility of holding one but i would like to know the procedures involved and etc.
Would appreciate help !!
Thanks !!

Demio (demio)
Username: demio

Post Number: 332
Posted on Monday, November 14, 2005 - 6:15 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi porkchop,

basically the officer needs to get an approval to hold a military wedding through his/her unit manpower officer. Once the letter of approval has been given he/she can tailor the no. 1 uniform and to t loan the accessories as well as uniforms for the swordbearers (usu 4-6 pairs, ie 8 to 12 swordbearers).

for the actual day's proceedings it is really simple. just get the swordbearers in an hour or so before the ceremony to rehearse. Usu can get the unit's rsm/csm to help out. basically they do a slow march in and form 2 rows, turn and face each other, draw swords to form the arc and the bride and groom marches through. The details of the drills are attached to the approval letter.

hope this helps

PoRkChOp (_piggy_)
Username: _piggy_

Post Number: 78
Posted on Tuesday, November 15, 2005 - 8:42 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks Demio !!! Its of great help.

Jacqueline (nitestar)
Username: nitestar

Post Number: 145
Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2006 - 9:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

pop by in here again to see if there are any BTB of 06...

cia (aliciatansk)
Username: aliciatansk

Post Number: 267
Posted on Thursday, August 03, 2006 - 2:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi ladies.. anyone here feels that KK hosiptal is a good one to go to? Cos our csc only allows us to go to govt hospital. Thanks!

starstar (starmed)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 2568
Posted on Friday, August 04, 2006 - 9:21 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi cia!!
long time never talk here liao..:-) how r u? hmmm...just curious..u preggie? ;p besides KKH, SGH also have gynae facilties... NUH too... :-) if u wanna go to a govt one, personally prefer SGH...heard alot of scary stories on KKH...colleagues who went to KKH didn't really like the nurses attitude there... dun know if it's true cos never been there yet...:p

cia (aliciatansk)
Username: aliciatansk

Post Number: 268
Posted on Monday, August 14, 2006 - 10:24 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi there star star, yeah, santiago forum is filled with new brides now.. ha ha! How have u been? Me not preggie lah.. just wannna go for annual women check up.. ha ha ha!

starstar (starmed)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 2606
Posted on Friday, August 18, 2006 - 2:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

cia
haha..tot u preggie also..:p anyway planning any?

I'm fine..what abt u?

Ashley Tang (im_ashley)
Username: im_ashley

Post Number: 130
Posted on Thursday, September 21, 2006 - 9:07 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Anyone can share which song you used for the military march-in? Thanks.

starstar (starmed)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 2775
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:26 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I use canon in D by pachelbel. :-)

Yellow_Duck (yellow_duck)
Username: yellow_duck

Post Number: 39
Posted on Friday, January 26, 2007 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

if this thread still on?

lavender_lover (starmed)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3033
Posted on Monday, January 29, 2007 - 3:51 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

keke..it's kinda of dead...cos all r now already mums or MTB liao...:p

Ivy (small_one)
Username: small_one

Post Number: 1647
Posted on Tuesday, January 30, 2007 - 3:46 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi yellow_Duck

agree with starmed about this thread. a second point to note is that there were no other brides with military weddings, so it just died out lor.

Starmed

you and I and pierce still around lar, just that we chat more in other threads liao.

Yellow_Duck (yellow_duck)
Username: yellow_duck

Post Number: 46
Posted on Tuesday, January 30, 2007 - 3:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

oh.. icic... heh... tis thread seems untouched quite sum times.. heh...

Ray&Linda (seanray)
Username: seanray

Post Number: 57
Posted on Thursday, March 08, 2007 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I guess this thread has been changed to other topics besides Sword Ceremonial wedding.
Anyhow, i need sugguestion from those who had their sword ceremonial on the music that was used during the march-in and maybe the procedure.

freshbaby_78 (freshbaby_78)
Username: freshbaby_78

Post Number: 155
Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Would like to check if there is any MC script to share for sword wedding ceremony?

Appreciate if u can send them to me at freshbaby_78@yahoo.com.sg

so blur (divine_genie)
Username: divine_genie

Post Number: 258
Posted on Monday, August 27, 2007 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hey, if there's sword bearer do we need those cute young things (flower girls and boys) infront of us?

Diane Ng (dinitegrity)
Username: dinitegrity

Post Number: 53
Posted on Thursday, December 04, 2008 - 3:50 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Can anyone teach me how to go about doing a sword ceromony?

My htb is a air force regular.

Must he be an officer to entitled to the sword wedding ceromony? He is only 1st sergeant.. Can a not? Is it very troublesome?

I envy BTBs here, your HTB are e ones hu want this want that. My HTB jus hack care everything, not interested in whatever issue but claim that he wanna get marry.

I did all planning, execution. I think what he wants is he himself appear on e day of wedding itself & sign on the paper & finish. He no expectations @ all.. So now is like everything I want like that.
I tink if we banquet in HBD blk dwstair, he also can de lo..

Can anyone pls share with me how to go about doing a sword wedding ceromony in dinitegrity@hotmail.com

He like nt very keen lo. Outta all e planning, i only delegate one, which is this sword ceromony march in to him to plan & he immediately tell me take the idea out (only officer than can) he said.

When he is e 1 hu suggested it in e 1st place.

But when need him to plan & execute, his excuse come liao. If i do den he no prob.. Sianz la..

Envy the BTBs here.

not superfamous! (superfamous)
Username: superfamous

Post Number: 76
Posted on Sunday, December 07, 2008 - 12:29 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Diane, your HTB is right.. only officer got swords, 1st sgt don't have so cannot have sword wedding ceremony..

don't worry, i'm quite sure alot of HTBs are like him, they don't show much interest in the wedding preps but that does not mean they are not interested in getting married.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use