Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Wedding Discussion Forum - SingaporeBrides.com * Wedding Banquets * Beer Quantity < Previous Next >

Janice
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi for all experienced brides,
I am visiting hotels now for banquet discussion. Just like to ask normally for a guest list of 380 of normally young people and business associates, how many litres of beer do we need to serve? So that can bargain with the hotel. Thanks in advance

Linda
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Janice,

Depending on whether your dinner is on a weekday or weekend. Weekends people drink more. And also on how well you know them. Do they all drink like fish? Young people and business associates then to drink more, beer or hard liquor or wine. I estimated mine (weekday) on one mug per person. A 50L barrel can pour abt 90 mugs.... So count from here.

To save on your consumption of beer, look for places which offers free flow.....If not, do not serve beer during the cocktail reception. Normally that period has the highest consumption of beer. When dinner starts, people drink less. Towards the end of the dinner, opt for mug by mug basis rather than opening a full barrel. Cos can't finish, they still charge you. If you serve other alcoholic drinks, beer consumption might be lowered too.

CK
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

wat about wine & champagne? how to estimate? have got about 16 tables for parents folks (who seldom drink wine i guess) & about 12 tables for us young folks. any cheap wine wholesalers contacts?
hard not to serve champiagn & wine during cocktail right? so how? no beer but got wine during cocktail & everything goes during dinner? pls advise. Thanks! :)

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 1:28 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi CK,

i would think 2-3 bottles of wine per table is a pretty good estimate (assuming 25-40% of guests are avid wine drinkers).

i did not serve wine during cocktail 'cos i didn't want to get my guests drunk even before the dinner started! :) of course quite a few of my AA-guests complained!

it also depends on the type(s) of wine that you are serving...some wines are not suitable for pre-dinner consumption...numbs the taste buds!

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 1:34 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi CK,

check out carrefour for their wine promotions...can get pretty good deal from there! there were selling matthew lang shiraz for only $12.90! for wine on consigment basis (with min. order) - check out Le Wine.

wkg
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 1:49 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Oi, Janice, how abt adding vinegar to black current juice. There u have best of both worlds, original wine (good stuff) & cheap [ ;-\ ]

Hee Hee Hee !!!

(Jus joking hor, no angry alright ?) Laugh gd for heart mah n release stress, teoh boh ?

Yum Seng

och
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 2:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi janice,

agree with linda that beer consumption is higher on weekends. when my nutty colleagues go 4 a wedding, they normally drink at least 4 30l barrels of beer n a lot of hard liquor.

hi ck,

i picked this up from another track in this forum:
oak cellars 8353511
wine culture 462 1129
ben tradevine 778 6655 / 9743 7078
le wine 286 1772

islandpub
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 2:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi All,

Linda, eh, i think one mug per pax not enuf leh... even tho pple tend to drink less during dinner, but at the very least also 2 mugs lah for those who do drink n more for those who are avid drinkers.... but then again, like u said, must know wat drinks ur guests normally drink lor... if they tend to drink beer more then ur est will not be enuf lah.. but if they tend to drink wine more then ur est wld be juz nice lor... coz got some dun drink also mah...

Janice, like wat most of them said, during cocktail reception, u can choose to juz serve soft drinks then when dinner starts then serve the alcohols..... n u ve to decide whether for alcohols, r u gg to serve juz beer only, or beer n stout only, or beer, stout n wine only or even include champagne as well? if u r looking at only beer mainly, n ur guests are alcoholic kind then most probably u can tell hotel to open 2 barrels n standby another 2 barrels lor.... then like wat was suggested, towards the end of dinner, serve by the glass rather than open another barrel lor....

CK
Posted on Tuesday, August 21, 2001 - 5:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi KPO,
whoa .. 2-3 bottles per table? Tat's a lot! I was just thinking of about 20-30 bottles for my 28 table dinner cos a lot of parents folks do not drink wine i think. :)
And about 50l of beer? no hard liquor?
You think it's OK or will look too 'stingy'?? Champagne also not very necessary right? Only my collegues will drink more ... my friends are not really drinkers. And my BF is a teacher! So hopefully his collegues not so much into 'drinking' as well! hee....

och - thanks for your list! very useful

About wat you guys say about drinking lesser on weekdays.. mine is a sunday.. do is that considered weekend drinking or weekday drinking??

Evon (Evon)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Hi...

Wat will pple think of a wedding w/o beers, hard liqour or wine...? Mabbe wine...

I hv phobia of drunkards at wedding... once attended a fren's wedding & his dad's fren had a drop too much & start to shout "Yum Seng"... and go round asking pple to drink with him...

Advise pls...

och
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 9:03 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi evon,

I think it's increasingly common for pple not to offer hard liquor n beers nowadays. i attended a few weddings like that already. only wines were served. in other weddings, the serving captains were briefed not to push too hard for beers n hard liquor. hvn't heard any complains fr the guests so far.

i'm thinking of serving only wines too, also bcos of drunkards-phobia. i hv nothing against pple who drink socially n will limit their alcohol intake to what they themselves can tolerate, but i'm terried of those who drink alcohol like water.

been to weddings where a whole table of pple got drunk on beers n hard liquor. they were shouting at the top of their voices, competing with each other who can drink more n even fighting over food! been to another where a male guest got drunk n started leering at the waitresses. the manager had to get a waiter to serve his table. quite unpleasant.

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 9:30 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi CK,

well..it all depends on whether u r serving beer/hard liquor as well...if u are, then probably you won't need that many bottles of wine. for us, we only had wine...& also 'cos quite a handful of our guests are avid wine lovers, they consumed quite a bit.

Linda
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Print Post

HiHi All,

OCH,
People do get high on wines too. So it still boils down to how your guests will behave.

CK,
It is alrite not to serve alcoholic drinks during cocktail. Brief your banquet manager and tell the service staff to politely tell your guests that alcoholic drinks will only be served during dinner. And when guests (those thick skinned ones) ask you why, just tell them kiddingly that you want them to be sober when you march in.....
And I would think Sunday dinner belongs to weekday drinking cos Monday must work mah.... :)

Islandpub,
I estimated based on my Monday dinner and of all guests, estimated 1 mug per guests including children....So some dun drink at all, while others drink more than 1.....So la(1) chang(2) pu(2) duan(3) lor.......

All will depends on your guests....Whether they are AAs or not.....Parents' friends and business associates normally drink a lot. My advise is (like what my bro did) to put potential drunkards at the end of the hall (or anywhere less conspicious) so that IF they do get drunk and make hell of a noise, they can be ushered out without much hoo-ha......

och
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi linda,

of course pple get high on wines, there's alcohol in wines! but, amongst my guests, not all types of alcohol hv the same appeal to the pple who dun know their own alcoholic limits mah. :)

Evon (Evon)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 12:03 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks... och...

So it's okie not to serve beer & hard liquor...

Sorrie side track abit here... let's say for 200 guests... how many bottles of wine/champange is required... and how much does 1 bottle cost...

Thanks....

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 12:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi evon,

one bottle of wine = 6-7 glasses
av. cost for a decent bottle of wine is around $20 (i.e. there are also cheaper ones @ $80)...there's a wide range of wine...u shld be able to get one that's within your budget whatever that may be.
my 150 guests consumed about 35 bottles of wine (but i've quite a lot of drinkers).

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 12:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi evon,

sorrie...i mean to say that "there are also cheaper ones which cost less than $15 and high-end ones which cost more than $80"!

och
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 12:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi evon,

think kpo is more experienced than me abt wines. :) some friends buy wines fr australia, declare it at customs n they claim it's cheaper than buying it in singapore. champagne costs more, usually abt $40 for a low end one.

Evon (Evon)
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks... :) KPO & och...

Dreamie
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2001 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi KPO,
Do you know where can I get cheaper wine? Those cheapest wine that I have seen so far is at least $25.

KPO (Kpo)
Posted on Thursday, August 23, 2001 - 9:29 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Dreamie,

i mentioned earlier in my posting...can check out carrefour for their wine promotions! you can get quite good deals from there...i.e. matthew lang shiraz (not so tannin and acidic, quite easy to drink) was going for $12.90! & many of the wines which are on offer going for <$20.

i went to Le Wine (supposedly wine wholesaler)...but the wines are not really that cheap...i believe can get cheaper prices @ the supermarkets (NTUC - but not much variety though). Check out also Cold Storage, Shop & Save and Jasons supermarket (@ Orchard Tower - has a wider variety of wines...but slightly more expensive as compared to the local supermarkets!).

australian wines (esp shirazes/chardonnay) are quite good and cheaper as compared to others...try lindemans, mcwilliam. wines from napa valley are good...but more expensive.

Carol
Posted on Saturday, November 10, 2001 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hehehe.. you all huh.. so cute one. Calculation a bit wrong like that..

I do events and wines. One 30litre beer barrel can pour about 25 jugs. One jug about 3.5 mugs. So 87.5 mugs in all. I think you shold target at 40% of your total guests who drink wine/beer, then calculate from there. From what I see, you need 2(two) 30l barrels and 2 cases(24 btls) of wines. It should be just nice, not too much not too little.

Gd Luck! If you need any assistance, can email me: dejacaz@singnet.com.sg

See what I can help u =)

La La (laughing)
Username: laughing

Post Number: 190
Posted on Monday, December 22, 2003 - 12:30 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi, I have 35 tables on a Sat nite. 25 tables are likely to be heavy drinkers (dad's buddies, hubby's engineering & contractor frens..*beng4 liao*). We are providing beer, hard liquor and wine. Can anyone advise how much beer, liquor and wine I will need to purchase? Assuming hotel gonna give 30L free beer only.

oraia (oraia)
Username: oraia

Post Number: 116
Posted on Monday, December 22, 2003 - 12:41 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hello lala,

how abt getting wine on a consignment basis, so tt you can return any unconsumed bottles?
for beer, i think once ur 30L runs out, ur hotel prob can ask whr u wan to open another 30L or 20L? (assuming it's only halfway thru' the dinner)... if it's twds the end, mabbe it's better to order by the glass?

hmm.. hard liquor i dunno. prob not so much, cos it's quite potent... if they are driving, they can drink even less, right?

just my 2 cents... :-)

Euclee (hippy)
Username: hippy

Post Number: 17
Posted on Monday, December 22, 2003 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hello La La,

Just some info for you to compare and decide how much you want to order. I had 50 tables and this is what I ordered:

1) Beer : 2 x 30L & 1 x 20L
2) Wine : 12 Crates (of which 4 crates on consignment)
3) Hard Liquor : 7 bottles of whiskey

To cut costs, we ordered beer direct from APB, I think 30L is around $300+ and 20L is $200+. Try to ask your hotel if they can let you bring in your own beer and waive the corkage charges. We didn't finish the last 20L so it was sent back to APB with a surcharge of $60+.(they don't charge you the 20L if it is not opened).Beats buying it direct from the hotel.

Wine, you may want to check out this place at Heeren Basement1. My friend told me the prices there are cheap and their min. crate order is very little. We had no choice, the supplier insisted on 8 crates min. but luckily (Or unluckily) we opened up 7.5 crates.

Hard Liquor, all finished.

To control your beer/wine/liquor, you may want to skip serving them during cocktail, ask the hotel to start serving only when the guests are seated.

La La (laughing)

Post Number: 192
Posted on Monday, December 22, 2003 - 6:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks Oraia & Euclee!

I am thinking whether the following is a good est for 35 tables on Saturday.
- 30L beer x 2
- wine 48 bottles
- hard liquor 5 bot

will probably get wine on consignment but I need an est. now for negotiation with the hotel for the contract (amount of free beer and no. of bottles of wine corkage to waive, since hotel wouldn't give free flow of beer and waive ALL wine corkage).

La La (laughing)

Post Number: 197
Posted on Tuesday, December 23, 2003 - 9:23 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi all BTB,

I was just advised by an experienced banquet mgr that the best place to get wine is carrefour. So anyone looking for good deals on wine, check out the carrefour wine fair or even their normal promotions closer to your wedding date. Was also advised to get Australian red wine in the region of $15-$20/bottle. No need white wine really. HTHs in your planning..

oraia (oraia)
Username: oraia

Post Number: 137
Posted on Wednesday, December 24, 2003 - 12:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi lala,

thanks! :-) will try and keep that in mind when it's my turn to look for liquor... :-)

wow!! what you are ordering sounds like alot of liquor! i don't know... mabbe i'm not experienced as such things cos i don't drink too much...

Dennis (delfino)
Username: delfino

Post Number: 1
Posted on Monday, February 23, 2004 - 6:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Euclee (hippy)!

I am interested to explore the possibility of ordering the beer direct from APB. Can you provide the contact person and number please? If it's inconvenient to post it, kindly send it to me at ultradelfino@yahoo.com.

shuhann (shuhann)
Username: shuhann

Post Number: 3
Posted on Thursday, January 27, 2005 - 1:37 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Hippy,

Can I have the contact for APB too?

inpreps (inpreps)
Username: inpreps

Post Number: 7
Posted on Thursday, February 17, 2005 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Hippy

Can I please have the contact for APB too?

Kalbarri (kalbarri)
Username: kalbarri

Post Number: 15
Posted on Thursday, September 15, 2005 - 11:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hey any experienced guys out there knowing roughly how many L of beer and red wine will be needed for 20tables with 6 tables colgs & frens while rest relatives ?? (less than a handful children)

ah_yoshi (ah_yoshi)
Username: ah_yoshi

Post Number: 8
Posted on Sunday, September 18, 2005 - 2:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Anybody has APB's contact? Can I ve it pls? email ah_yoshi@yahoo.com

Yoshi

kcl (kcl)
Username: kcl

Post Number: 186
Posted on Sunday, April 16, 2006 - 1:36 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Click my username if anyone have the contact number Beer & Liquor Supplier?TQ

Jenny (jen02)
Username: jen02

Post Number: 37
Posted on Saturday, May 27, 2006 - 11:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

anyone have any APB's contact num? Thanks alot

Jen02_3@yahoo.com.sg

Wina (winigab)
Username: winigab

Post Number: 4
Posted on Friday, December 01, 2006 - 10:34 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Can someone share the contact no. to APB??

Many thanks!!

strawberrie (berrie27)
Username: berrie27

Post Number: 32
Posted on Sunday, January 28, 2007 - 8:08 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Im also having 33 tables sat. only providing beer and wine. Im bringin in wines, for beer- my hotel only giving 30 litre. approx 90 mug right? Should i get another 30 litre? isit enuff? or more?

green (green_tranquility)
Username: green_tranquility

Post Number: 219
Posted on Tuesday, July 10, 2007 - 11:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Estimating wine and beer consumption at banquet is a BIG headache! I am cracking my brain hard over it.

novice (novice055)
Username: novice055

Post Number: 11
Posted on Saturday, October 06, 2007 - 1:00 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Pls kindly advise which Red Wine to choose from, with a budget of ard $20~$25/bottle, intending to buy 18 to 24 bottles.

novice055@hotmail.com

go5 (go5)
Username: go5

Posted on Wednesday, October 31, 2007 - 10:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

i onli hve 30 litres beer ard 90 glasses rite..n planning to get ard 30 bottles of red wines..
is this sufficient for a friday dinner with 250 guests.?..=)
realli hope is if not....=(

rosewhite (rosewhite)
Username: rosewhite

Post Number: 273
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 10:55 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I have a question here, when the hotel says corkage charges, does it apply to the bottles of wine open only during the banquet or all bottles of wine brought into the hotel? thx

cactus_79 (cactus_79)
Intermediate Member
Username: cactus_79

Post Number: 4192
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

only the bottles of wines opened durinng banquet and cocktail, if any. Once remove the cork, there is a charge. That's why called corkage charge.

rosewhite (rosewhite)

Post Number: 274
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 10:48 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

thx cactus, in this case, we are free to bring in any amt of bottles of wine right? My coordinator say we can only bring in 8 ( given 8 free corkage) then if exceed the 8 bottles the hotel will charge by per bottle. So abit confuse thought the hotel want to earn on the alcohol.

cactus_79 (cactus_79)
Intermediate Member
Username: cactus_79

Post Number: 4193
Posted on Tuesday, November 20, 2007 - 7:49 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi rosewhite,
I think you should check directly with your coordinator. corkage charge is only on the bottles which you open, but some hotels/restaurants may not want to take possession of too many bottles of wine for security reasons (in case they lose them) or because they dun have sufficient storage space.

rosewhite (rosewhite)

Post Number: 276
Posted on Friday, November 23, 2007 - 12:07 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi cactus,
thx for the advice, will check with the coordintor.

christina (paultina)
Username: paultina

Post Number: 28
Posted on Friday, July 17, 2009 - 9:27 am:   Edit Post Print Post

i have signed up my wedding banquet for 27tables.

Can anyone share his/her experenice with me? estimate how many barrel of beer are open during your wedding?

Tks.

christina (paultina)
Username: paultina

Post Number: 31
Posted on Friday, July 17, 2009 - 9:29 am:   Edit Post Print Post

And as well the number of wine u have open during ur wedding?

Jia Loh (junkiegal)
Username: junkiegal

Posted on Monday, October 12, 2009 - 9:58 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Can someone share the contact no. to APB??
aries0328@hotmail.com

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use