Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding * Bridal Boutiques and Services * Petite bride * Archive through November 27, 2005 < Previous Next >

bsproffy (lilic)
Username: lilic

Post Number: 1079
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 3:15 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

chris, i used them moist.. those tea bags after consumed, i keep them in the freezer.. then when i want to use, i add a bit of water on the tea bags and plac them on my eyes.. closed of coz.. hahha

actually i think we are more critical abt ourselves by nature.. think your complexion is not that bad one.. =)

starrystarry (starrystarry)
Username: starrystarry

Post Number: 147
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 6:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Excited Chris,

Yup, shortlisted Silver Cloak, Ritz and YC.
My FH, as usual, not much comments....so long as his suit looks nice

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member
Username: mehmeh_lim

Post Number: 3270
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 7:11 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Peggy,

Me too, staying with the ILs. Currently coz we still dun have a flat under our name, we have no debts yet. We bought the car, getting the keys tm, when prices were low & we had some $1k discount coz of connections.. heheh

We knew we didn't want to be in debt for unncessary reasons, so we didn't get a flat while also prep for the wedding. Tt wld be a real mean feat to manage both the stress of preps & finances.. Now tt the wedding is over, we can afford our 1st car. Partly it's a necessity, coz my HB is in sales, so when his overseas clients drop by, wld be more presentable too

In making sure we're not in great debt, we took up the min loan & also calculated the no. of years to pay off the loan, in order not to pay the exhorbitant interest. So we wld be able to repay the car loan within 4 years! Most do with 7 or 10..

Having said tt, it also means tt we used up alot of our savings. However we did factor in tt we still have quite some bit of savings, coz it's def no gd to hope for a gd bonus & then splurge yah?

Hi Chris,

Guess what, it was me who kept pestering HB to get a car! My hm & ILs place is so far apart, Hougang & Holland V, taking public transport wld be such horror! Moreover our church is in Punggol, so the car is much needed! heheh

We go dutch for most payments.. We have our personal savings account & monthly we wld deposit a fixed amt into our joint current account. So whatever payments which are required, car, credit car, tour, etcetc, wld come fr tt joint account.. I get driven ard alot coz he wld make sure he fetches me when i'm out with frens or sthg along tt line, so i think i shd contribute too..

Be a nice wife lah, do ur Math & then make sure u dun take too long to pay off the loan, coz no pt paying the banks money for nothing..

Are u excited to view ur PS pix? I rem u mentioned tt u managed to get a glimpse via the view-finder on the camera yah? Control yah? Dun overspend on topping-up! Must save money for more practical stuff too.. hehe, like ur facials & skin care products , and of coz ur FH's car

hi strawberry,

So nice to know ur bonus is secured rite? heheh.. Anyway, so u're going to stay on with ur current company after ur full-time MBA? Think this experience wld increase their brownie points huh?

Hi Starry,

Rem i ever told u tt Jaime Yeo used Silver Cloak? Sorry, salah info.. I mixed it up with Silver Lining! SorrySorry!

Did u manage to try gowns at ur visit at Silver Cloak? How did ur FH like their suits too?

Post Number: 152
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 7:16 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi mehmeh,

Nope didn't try the gowns cos they were too big, don have my size.
My FH likes their suit. Cos the package they gave us includes a MTM suit

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3272
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 7:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi starry,

Shd grab the opp to try some gowns inspite them being oversized for us.. I did just tt when BS shopping, coz i wanted to know their quality of gowns & their service for walk-in customers..

Tt's cool to hear tt ur FH can get a MTM suit, to keep? How abt checking on the range of materials available? Wld recommend taking other colours, rather than the usual cream & black. My HB had a light-brownish suit on loan fr YC. I think charcoal grey is nice too.. Dun forget on the choice of material too, heard fr some others tt wool sorts are higher quality

Hahah, if guys want to go into details in perfecting their suit, i think can just be as complex as us perfecting our WG

Post Number: 155
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 7:40 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi mehmeh,

The suit is MTM but for rent. Think wool will be quite warm, don't think he wants that.
I thought black or blue would be more solemn and smart. Brown and cream...i'm not sure.

Excited Chris (chrissrp)
Username: chrissrp

Post Number: 266
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 8:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi lilic,
Hmm.. I think i'll give it a try.. No harm mahz..
My skin starts to deteriorate few mths ago aftr i have high fever for a week... My body tend to feel v. warm at night.. Like gg to fever.. That's why my acne & pimples start popping out.. Making it less radiant.. Haiz... That why i say i have weird facial system.. Haha..

Hi Starry,
So, which is yur first choice? Only visited these 3 BS? I visited the whole IMM's BS.. Haha.. Browse till im soo blur.. So, better not visit too many BS.. It will only give u "headage"..

Agree with Mehmeh.. MTM other colours than the normal stuff.. That is the purpose of MTM mahz.. :-) Haha.. My HTB got himself a greyish blue suit..

Hi Mehmeh,
Wow, u got yur car keys tmr yah? *Congratulations* What model? Heehee.. I think u really need a car when ya living so far away frm each other.. Sianx to travel via public.. And esp when yur HTB is in sales line.. There will be car allowance right? Good good!! :-)

Yah.. I better be a good wife to go dutch with him.. Same as u, we hv a joint a/c & save a fix amt every mth, but we dun touch our joint a/c... Of course we charge our wedding bills to the joint a/c.. But aftr wedding, NO touch touch.. This joint a/c is meant for our savings & emergency use lor.. So most probably the car loan will come out from our own personal a/c.. That is why we can only get a mini car like Mitsubishi Colt, Kia Picanto.. etc

Ya, did get a glimpse.. Happy with the scenery.. But I will try my best to resist topping up!! :-) I CAN DO IT!! No pt topping now & aftr a few years, the album lie in a corner.. Haha.. Did u top up? Yah.. save up for the future car.. Hee hee..

Post Number: 157
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 8:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Excited Chris,

Only visited Silver Cloak, yet to visit the other 2. Me and my FH are busy with work, not much time

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3276
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 10:40 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi starry,

u wld be surprised tt other colours will still give tt solemn look. The cut does matter too! Wool's def hot, i think there's some other gd quality type, maybe not pure wool, some polyester

Hi Chris,

We got Suzuki Liana, hatchback model. Got when prices were lower, but not as low as the $11k COE..
Colt isn't tt cheap leh.. Picanto is quite okie, just slow pick-up speed. It's rather cute! Hyundai Getz is quite okie too. Maybe u want to wait for the new Toyota Yaris? at least u know for a Toyota, the quality is more or less assured & its engin quality is 2nd to a Honda. But will only come in next year, so just nice lah, after ur wedding

I topped-up a total of 13 pix, 7 via a voucher & 6 were paid with cold hard cash..I had 38 pix in all. No fan of mag-style albums, so no pt getting too many pix which looked way too similar

Post Number: 161
Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 11:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I would advise against Hyundai Getz. That car got quite a few problems and the fuel consumption is also quite high compared to other 1.5L

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3282
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 9:48 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Starry,

Hyundai cars are generally heavier makes.. But px is rather attractive. Wonder for a 1.5L car, whether Kia or Hyundai is more fuel uneconomical..

skyblu (skyblu)
Username: skyblu

Post Number: 181
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 10:34 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi hi ladies,
can i join in too? :-)
i am a pettie size bride too. i am looking for wedding shoes that are 3.5 or 4 inch. can anyone share with me some pointers on wat to look out for when shopping for it? where can i get these shoes? thanks a mil!
cheers!:-)

Post Number: 163
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi mehmeh,

Hyundai's fuel consumption will be more than Kia. My pilates instructress used to drive hyundai, she just changed to a honda and the honda is apparently more fuel efficient

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 267
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Mehmeh,

I see.. 1.6L right? He also like the Suzuki Swift.. Looks like mini cooper frm the side.. Haha.. *Always day-dream abt mini-cooper*

Yah, Picanto is cute, mini & CHEAP!! Haha.. Like the orange the best... Most likely i will want him to get this.. Its cheap... For a 1.1L car, the pick-up is def slow.. I dun mind.. I just need a 4-wheel transport.. Hmm.. Hyundai getz the shape not v. nice.. Not curvy.. Yah lor, he like Colt becoz of the shape & the interior design.. The front seat is like the cinema couple seat... U can lift up & dwn the handle in btw.. So, can seat 1 small kid.. V. convenient esp when the carpark lot is small.. Just park more to one side & then can exit the other side.. U know what i mean yah? Hee hee..

Toyota Yaris? Mini? U have the pic? I think Toyota engine is the best.. Heard alot of good feedback abt Toyota.. Toyota Vios also not bad.. Heehee... Now start to shortlist liao..

I can only choose 26 pics... Dun want to spend on wedding album.. Hee hee.. How much u pay for 1 top-up? Already spent alot for this BS...

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 268
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Skyblu,
Welcome!! I din really shop for my AD wedding shoes.. Coz me no time.. Got my wedding date quite late...

U can try MTM yur wedding shoes at Leapin Lizard.. If u want 3.5" or 4", better to have slight platform infront.. Mine is 4" with slight platform MTM by leapin lizard, but i still have a little problem walking.. Cant imagine without the platform!! Unless u r used to high heels.. :-)

-Chris-

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 269
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Starry,
Yah.. me also heard that Hyundai's fuel consumption is high.. Honda car a little bit noisy leh.. Hee hee..

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3287
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:58 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi starry,

Honda's the best engine ard, following closely is Toyota..Oh wow, i always had the impression tt Kia is not as great as Hyundai.

Hi Chris,

Think starry's info abt Kia has probably set ur heart more assured in getting ur Picanto. Dun get the Colt, Mitsubishi was in big trouble back in Japan for filing away complaints abt their vehicles, got found out thru police raid..
I think it's muchmuch heavier than Kia, so fuel consumption may be rather high too

Do a Google search on Toyota Yaris.. It looks quite like the Echo they had couple of years back.

Coz i selected a 10R album, each additional pix cost me $55, for a 15R, each wld cost $65...Why did u say u spent alot on the BS oredi? Other than ur MTMs, which shd be in the package, what else? Issit ur Bintan PS?

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 270
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Mehmeh,

I always thought Toyota has the best engine.. Hee hee.. Now i know Honda is the best.. But somehow i feel that Honda's car abit noisy.. Haha..

My HTB actually shortlist those cars he like & can afford lor.. But of course Kia Picanto being the cheapest of all.. So if i were to choose, i will choose the cheapest!! Haha.. Stingy Chris!! :-)

Ohh.. Ok ok.. Will ask him to do a search!! Hee hee..

Hmm.. I think my WD pkg quite "bo hua" lehz.. I think some well-known BS's pkg is much more attractive than mine...:-( I paid $3688 for the pkg.. Both my MTM gowns cant keep & we got to fork out on top of that for my HTB's MTM suit at his tailor.. Worst still, now i got to pay for another MUA for my AD.. And maybe we have to rent a bridal car for our AD (GG to neg with them this weekend)... :-( With this price, at other BS, i can get to keep the MTM EG & MTM suit.. My bintan trip is included in the pkg..

That time are u v. tempted to add the photos? :-)

strawberryj (strawberryj)
Username: strawberryj

Post Number: 260
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 2:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Chris,

Yah, I agree that I would be tempted to top up as well... Must "REN" (Endure") lor...

You only have 26 pixs.. You may find it hard to resist all the nice pixs... I'll be very tempted as well... Getting excited for you.. Must show us the pixs once it is ready k??!!

I agree with Mehmeh, if your FHB really wants a car so much.. Be a darling and let him have it.. Afterall, you are going to get chauffeured around anyway...That is of course if your financial resources can take it...

My driving instructors told me that for Jap cars, Toyota is the best around, followed by Honda, Nissan and Mitshubishi.... Honda's parts are very ex... Both Honda and Toyota are both have lower fuel consumptions... I don't like Korean cars. They are cheaper, but not vey good...

Sometimes if you stinge on the car, you may find yourself paying more for maintenance of the car.. May not work out to be worth it...

Post Number: 261
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Lilic,

No, I'm from Business, same as your bf.. That's why cannot get CPA local even though I'm in Finance field... The MBA will help a lot...

I tried tea-bags before for puffy eyes.. Very cooling... Got remedies for wrinkles or not?... Dunno why 2 deep lines are appearing near my under-eyes.. I'm getting worried... Ai, getting old already..

Hi Mehmeh,

So sweet of HB to fetch you around.. :-) It is right afterall, since he must "teng" his wife mah..

Yah, I agree that if your HB is in sales, then he will need the transport for convenience, esp if he has foreign counterparts coming over..

Hi SkyBlu,

Welcome... Leaping Lizard is good... I got mine MTM from there as well.. .But more costly than if you buy OTR from departmental stores like Tangs. Tangs having X'mas sale soon.. Lilic was recommending me NineWest and the likes.. I have no chance to see yet...You can go take a look.

skyblu (skyblu)

Post Number: 184
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 2:44 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hihi chris,
thanks thanks. yeah, i thot so too. 4inch, so high, dunno if i can take it or not...
u got leapin lizard to MTM? how's the quality? stable or not? erhh..is it ex?
where is the location of the shop?
sorry for so many qns.

skyblu (skyblu)

Post Number: 185
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hihi strawberry,
thanks thanks too. hehe..i just went tangs last fri, saw 1 i like, but no size for me. i tried URS too, oso no size left. so now looking for alternative. hmm..how's the MTM like? do we need to come up with the design? or they have an example for us to choose from? hehe, sorry i got too many qns...
ninewest...hmm...ok, i will give that a try too.

Post Number: 263
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 3:19 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Skyblu,

You can pop into LL to see their samples... Not necessary to think of your own designs.. They are located at International PLaza, Tg Pagar..

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 271
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 3:44 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi strawberry,
Ya lor.. 26 pics only.. tat why i say my pkG abit "bo hua"... Hw many u got? Yah... REN REN REN!!! Definitely show ya gals!! :-)

I will let him buy of course... Me also want a car.. Hee hee.. Just that i dun wanna spend soo much $$ at one go.. Heart pain nei!! Aftr wedding, will def buy lorz.. Already promise hime... Yeah.. I wanted to be chaffuered ard... That why i din get a driving licence.. Hee Hee..:-)

That is what i heard as well... Toyota followed by Honda... I have heard alot of bad points of Hyundai but not Kia.. So, shldn't be a problem... *Keep my fingers crossed* :-)

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 272
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 3:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Skyblu,
U got to "parade" more often at home lorz.. Hee Hee.. :-)

Yes, mine is MTM at leapin lizard.. U can view frm this website: http://photos.yahoo.com/chris81sng/ There's diff quality... Mine is Satin.. Hmm... Stable anotz ar? So far aftr my ID PS, the heels is still intact.. Hee hee... I didn't use it for my OD PS.. *Luckily* There's alot of design display on the shelves.. Not a v. nice scene.. Hee hee.. (Becoz looks dirty & old aftr tried by so many ppl) U can come out with yur own design as well...

Its at International Plaza... V. near to Tanjong Pagar MRT... Give u the exact add when reach home..

When yur AD?

skyblu (skyblu)

Post Number: 186
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hihi chris,
wha...your mtm wedding shoes is very nice! How much u pay for that? now i am tempted to get mine mtm too. btw, where did u get your ID PS shoes? this 1 is oso very nice. *thumbs up* :-)

my AD is next Oct, but taking PS in Feb. wat abt yours? hehe....dun mind can i oso view your mtm day and nite gowns?

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1085
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

strawberryj

deep lines are caused mainly by dehydration.. perhaps you can try to use more nourishing eye cream for your eyes..

i read abt the course you are doing, its by research right? wat will be your thesis topic?

ladies

for those who are looking for diamond studs, i came across a pretty good bargain at the citigems in plaza singapura this evening.. so if you are interested, can go there during the weekend..

the specs of the studs are 0.34ct each, color H and SI1... IGI certified with 2 years 100% trade in value with citigem... oh, the diamonds' brillance is not bad coz of the cut and the inclusions are quite well hidden...

believe it or not, the price is only S$1226 after discount...i think given the specs and the price, its really a good buy..

reason the sales person gave was that they are in collaboration with antwerp diamond distributors.. so they can afford to go low for some diamonds.. and these are under their best buy items..which means once sold, thats it...

Peggy Gan (patali)
Username: patali

Post Number: 476
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 11:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi skyblu
I got my pair of 3.5inch silver satin PS shoes which I probably wear for AD again in a shop in Kovan,Hougang for less than $40 :-)

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 273
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 8:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Skyblu,
:-) Thnks.. My MTM wedding shoes cost $184.. My OD PS shoes is frm OG.. Do go for MTM if u cant find any outside.. FYI, it will take abt a mth to MTM.. Where is yur BS? My AD is 5th Mar 06 & I finish my PS last week!! :-) :-) :-)

Ohh... Sure sure... *Green light for ya* :-)

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3293
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

I think the px of the package is pretty okie. Considering u've got 26 pix, i'm assuming, 15R ones & 2 MTM gowns. Honestly, if u do get ur EG to keep, pretty hard to wear in future yah? Hmm, abt the MTM suit, i guess it was just a big-booboo tt they cldn't deliver. Anyway, the suit might also come in handy in future yah?

hi strawberry,

Yah, HB very sweet to always offer to drive me ard. Luckily for the car, i dun like the sun v much!

hi Lilic,

heheh, u're one gem-lover yah? heheh.. No more diamonds for me at the moment. Gotta be more conscious of spending now tt we got our car & gotta save up all over again for the flat

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1087
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 9:23 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hahha mehmeh,

i am gem lover.. but i have minimal lar.. me too rugged for such stuff.. hahahah.. and also, those i like are really expensive.. hahaha, yah lor, must save for house... esp we are handling both house and wedding at the same time.. luckily we still can use family car.. pray that bf wun bring out the topic of car for now.. *kekeke

when its your selection date? all the best... you are blessed.. i got a few frens who werent successful for the balloting for tpy..

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3297
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 9:33 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Lilic,

heheh, these are peripherals in life. I think i rather my HB buys them for me.. More significant yah? Me rugged too, thankfully diamonds are so hardy..

Selection date is real late, 13 Dec. We've kinda identified some units we want & can afford. But HB's thinking for its floor area & price, we cld do much better with a re-sale & grant. *pondering*

skyblu (skyblu)

Post Number: 189
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hihi chris,
yup, definitely, i'll put MTM shoes as my last alternative. i kinda like your OD shoes too, so will probably go OG to take a look too. :-)
ohh...btw, i manage to get leapin lizards' address from the leapin lizards' thread. ;)

whaaaa, u very pretty, and your gowns too. hehe..my EG is abt the same as yours. initially i wanted lime green too, but the color dun suit me well. hehehe...my BS is golden horse awards. i am waiting for my 1st fitting, as they r in work-in-progress stage.

u went to bintan for your PS? how's it?

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1089
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 9:56 am:   Edit Post Print Post

mehmeh, just my two cents worth

if you are thinking of selling your place after 5-6 years, then i will advise against resale, resale prices are quite marked up currently for the mature estates.. altho still lower than the prime time.. so you may not end up getting the price you want from the next buyer.. i not so sure abt tpy, but when i did the analysis for mountbatten and east coast area, thats why i find out lar.. resale for 4rm is abt 300k.. while the new hdb 5rm is abt 310k..

while you have the grant from hdb, it will come with conditions and make sure they wun hinder your future plans..

finally its the reno costs lar.. unless you got a unit which has minimal reno or reno to your liking, think you also have a fork out quite a bit for reno..

my 2cents worth..

eh, strawberryj, share your tots? you also looking for place right?

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3301
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 10:22 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Lilic,

Yeah, i'm aware of the concerns too.. Right now still looking ard & monitoring the resale prices. Of coz prob it does depend on the location we're shortlisting...

Honestly, why resale is appealing, for a 4Rm, the floor area is so much bigger. The estate being mature is more convenient. Read abt the clauses to the grant, so being quite careful too. Thankfully HB has several churchmates who are house agents, so they will be of great help to summarise all the info needed

Def gotta select one where minimal reno is needed. Had a churchmate who bought a resale in Seng Kang, didn't do a single bit of reno, absorbed the built-in stuff, just did painting only! So cool..

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1090
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 10:38 am:   Edit Post Print Post

yupz.. good to read all the clauses for all the impt documents..

well, happy searching.. its another enjoyable process i would say.. i had my fun.. =)

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 274
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Meh,

Ya lorz.. The MTM suit can be for future usage.. But, if i add up everything for this BS, i spent abt $4800... Haiyoh.. When i compare with some other BS... Hmm...Quite upset.. But anyway, forget it lahz.. Hee hee.. :-)

U looking for 4-rm or 5-rm flat? U'll be looking near yur ILs or yur parents?

Ohh.. Lovey-Dovey yah!! :-) Do yur HB fetch u aftr work as well? U have a driving licence?

Hi Skyblu,
Me pretty? Photo only lahz.. Haha.. But i do love my WG!! :-) :-) Oh.. "Jin Ma Jiang" right?? My sis BS also.. But is in M'sia... U have any pics of yur gowns?

Yupz.. Went to Bintan for PS.. V. tiring.. Climb here & there with the big gown.. :-) Cheek, Shoulder, Waist gg to break!! Haha.. But, overall FUN!! Like the beach.. Relaxing & Calm.. Good place to laze ard..

Lilic,
U also looking for yur lovenest?

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3307
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Lilic,

with the wedding preps done, i think this is def surmountable!

hi Chris,

Oh nvm, so long as u like the end-products yah? heheh.. Enjoy every bit of ur WG & PS pix.

I'm looking for a 4RM..Near my parents, definitely. Resale flats in the Holland V area is really pricey, def cannot afford leh

Nopez, no driving license, but v gd with directions. HB is hopeless when it comes to dirn! He wld pick me up fr the MRT station. But guess fr 2006 onwards, he can pick me up fr work oredi. New sch is in Clementi & he works in Gul Circle area

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1092
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi chris

nope.. got my place liao.. after almost 2 year search.. hahah, coz a fren looking for lovenest, so bf and i have been tagging along to see.. but only settle recently after he proposed.. now waiting for it to be ready.. *long neck*

hi mehmeh

you are very right.. but lets enjoy it.. *smile*

i got no license too.. and am my bf's directory too.. hee..

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3309
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 12:00 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi lilic,

Just to check sthg.. I figure many ppl ROM prior to their customary coz they of the HDB. Does the same rule apply to those who get condos? I'm thinking no right, many singles get their units w/o having to get married rite?

I prefer being driven.. I find if both husband & wife can drive, the interdependence isn't tt great? Have heard of couples arguing abt who gets to use the car.. Aiyoh, such stuff better stay out of my path

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 275
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Meh,
Oh yes.. The end-product up to my satisfactory!! :-) Only the MU lahz.. Still yet to go for trial..

I see.. His parents is ok for ya to live near yur parents? Oh.. Clementi then to Gul Circle.. Convenient nei!!

Haha.. U & Lilic is the compass while im a goondo when comes to direction.. I tend to forget directions v. easily... I will go round & round.. (Merry-go-round) Haha... My HTB say i will get 1st prize when come to "No Sense of directions" :-) :-)

Same same.. HTB wanted me to get a licence.. So, when he tired, i can drive.. Not so stupid to fall into his trap.. Haha.. Also heard alot stories snatching the car.. So, to play safe, advisable not to get licence for wife.. :-)

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3311
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

Do take pix when u go for the trial.. Oh yeah, u're going to spend on tt for the bridal package too. So did u highlight to ur designer abt the EG which u're not totally satisfied with?

Honestly, i dun quite care if his parents are ok. We've got a car, we make sure we visit them, i think tt's gd enough. U know there's this Chinese phrase, "Xiang Jian Ru Bin, Xiang Chu Nan"? ie occasional mtgs are def cordial & nice, but living together can get real challenging

Nvm abt not knowing dirn.. Not many ppl are gd with it, but can still pick up after some amt of experience. hahah, u can't get v tired due to driving in S'pore! tell him not to have any tricks up his sleeves, we've got foresight to know what he's up to!

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 276
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 1:51 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Meh,
Ya ya.. Will take the pic.. I have yet to tell the designer lehz.. Maybe this weekend when gg dwn to view the pics.. Somehow, i begin to like the EG aftr my ID PS nei.. The more i see, the more my love for it grows.. Hee.. But, i think with yur additional idea, it shld look better..

Haiz.. I think im stuck with my ILs.. Even if we move, i think they will "glue" to us.. But, ok lahz.. My parents just a few blks away.. So, convenient..

Heehee.. Sometimes my HTB & my friends "bei ta han" me!! Haha.. I always lead the long way.. Haha..

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1093
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 2:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi mehmeh

i suppose you mean pte condos.. you are right, you dun need to be married to buy condos.. but if you are using cpf to service the mortgage loan, there are some restrictions which you need to note..

while they allowed married couples to finance mortgage loan with CPF, married persons cannot use CPF to finance mortgage loan for ppty they buy with non-related individuals. but single person can use their CPF to finance the loan with non-related individuals..

hope i din sound like doing tongue twister here..

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3314
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

Why do u say tt u're stuck with ur ILs? Before HB & I got married, i oredi told him to hint to his parents we def want our own home... So right now tt we're waiting to select a TPY unit, it reminds them tt we def wld move out, just a matter of time

Oooh, if u're the one who isn't gd with dirn, then better shhh in the car, if not will kena very jialat fr the driver one.. hahah. Sometimes i get so frustrated with my frens & FIL who cannot tell dirn & still yakyakyak

Hi Lilic,

Yupz, pte condos..This CPF regulation is kinda queer, married cannot finance with non-related. Non-related & non-related is agreeable? *scratch-head*

Anyway shdn't be looking into a pte condo at the moment lah... Not tt established yet

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 277
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 4:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Meh,
Ask u.. If his parents transfer the name of the existing flat to him.. Does it mean that we cant buy a new/resale flat for a few years??

Hmm.. My HTB only son mahz.. And 2 sisters already move out.. His parents already old.. HTB already told me that we be staying wif his parents no matter we move/not move..

Oh no.. I always shut my mouth up when someone is driving & asking for directions.. :-) I will "di gong" ... Hee.. Even when cab driver ask me for my route, i will say "Shui bain" lorz... Hee hee.. Just that, when i know somewhere new, i will bring my frenx the next time.. And i tend to forget the directions.. I know is somewhere there.. But still i will bring them round & round the area.. Haha.. Cannot tahan me arh... Alot of jokes when this happen.. :-)

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1102
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi mehmeh

they want to encourage proper family nucleus supposedly.. so dun want a married guy to buy another place with a non related fren (maybe mistress???) then probably non related and non related can become future family nucleus??? hahha, my guess only lar..

hi chris

if his parents trf the flat to him, its as if he bought a resale flat from his parents.. and if i am not wrong, he is expected to return any cpf monies paid by his parents previously to their account.. not sure if they can fix the sale at a nominal amount only.. =)

actually another alternative, you two buy a place you like and you ask the folks to stay with you.. coz i do think there is a difference whether you are staying under their roof or them staying under yours.. to me, i think that your hubby must take up the role as the head of the household.. if stay with them, its kinda difficult...

or buy a unit beside them? in the same block? thats what one of my frens did.. they always have dinner / watch tv with the parents but when she needs the privacy, she has it..

only my 2cents worth

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3320
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

I think if the ruling is, tt the flat is now his & he can't buy any flat within the next 5 years.. But i might be wrong yah? Better to check with the HDB website

My HB also the only son & only child.. But i dun care. His mum just came back & came to num num chum chum at me.. *faint*

Oh yeah, better keep quiet, later u become the 'qian gu zui ren', ie guilty for eternity

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3321
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 5:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Lilic,

U really echo my thoughts.. the husband is to be the head of the household, which is why i really want to move out. I dun think it's gd to have my ILs still calling the shots when the children come along.

My ILs can be easily gan jiong & when they do, they tend to raise their voices. I think it's not very healthy when u have a BB who cries, the BB wld wail then! Of coz they are experienced, but i think parents shdn't be too insistent & overtly uptight, unnecessary stress to the couple & BB..

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 278
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 11:25 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Lilic & Meh,

Hmm... His parents abit to the old traditional.. They want their son to be under one roof lorz.. As for calling the shots, my HTB say this, they will obliged to him.. They will say "Anyway, this house sooner or later will be yours.. U make the decision".. He's v. pampered by his parents lorz.. They dun raise their voice to us lorz.. So, not badz...

As for num num chum chum, i can understand lahz.. At their age, they will tend to be long-winded.. Aftr staying with them for a few yrs liao.. Somehow immune to it & not a big issue with it.. Hee hee.. But u gals are right.. Wait till we got kids.. The worst scenerio will come!! Haha..

Aiyah Mehmeh.. just to share our thoughts mahz.. No need to feel guilty.. U r our consultant nei!! Hee hee

bsproffy (lilic)

Post Number: 1108
Posted on Friday, November 25, 2005 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hey mehmeh

i agree with you.. parents are there to support and advise.. and not to rule.. hahaha.. i did a pmc together with my IL and the pastor addressed a lot of issues then.. hahaha, so i think i am pretty blessed in this sense..

yes, its scriptural that your hubby is to be the head of the household.. this cannot be undermined... if you realise, the Gen 2:24 says "Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh" Thats the main reason why i encourage married couple to start their lives separate...

well, chris.. not to be mean lar... but you really gotta work out with your hubby abt the children issues.. esp with your IL.. you dun want them, for eg. shield the kidz when you want to discipline them...

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3329
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

I foresee some problems leh.. But i think when the children are going to arrive, got to get ur HB to emphasise strongly tt they must also be disciplinarians & not be the sort whom the children can run to for shelter

Have a colleague who made sure tt his parents also disciplined the child the same way he does, if not double-std too.. Got to follow tt gd eg. But i doubt my ILs can adhere to my style, coz they love kids, afterall they only had my HB

Hi Lilic,

Wow, ur IL also attend the PMC ah? My ILs prob wun understand either, chinese ed & the Pastor is EL ed one.. heheh

I always rem tt verse & always remind HB too, he does rem it. His mum is more of the head of the household, coz she's got a little more education than my FIL & my FIL's too simple-minded, aka childish, so she's the one calling the shots. I find tt rather unhealthy, coz biblically it ought to be the Father who ought to be the head. Honestly, i dun think my HB & my MIL have a great deal of respect for my FIL, so i cannot let my future family fall into tt trap too

Have a gd fren fr NUS where her family functions with the Father really being the head of the household & still so loving. Really have them as my model family!

Post Number: 185
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 2:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi mehmeh,

I agree with bsproffy on the house thing.
Me and my FH also die die don't want to buy resale. Reason being we have to factor in the cost of tearing down the whole place and replacing all the pipings (if it's about a 10yr old flat) and ceilings may leak too....so much so much things to spend on. The grant may not be a draw to get a resale anymore.

Post Number: 188
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 2:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Excited Chris,

Which BS did you sign up for?

Post Number: 189
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 2:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi mehmeh,

You looking for flats in the west area too?
Me and my FH both living in clementi. So we are hoping to get a flat near clementi area.

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 279
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Lilic & Mehmeh,
U r right.. I will want to discipline my own kids in my own way & rules!! Haha.. Nobody is to meddle with my kids affair!! Haha.. But, i think at the moment, we r not moving.. I'll see what my HTB got to say lorz.. :-)

Hi Starry,
Mine is Wedding News Bridal Couture..

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 280
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 11:10 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Starry,
Hmm.. Looking for flats near Clementi area.. A gd choice!! I actually like the flats at Clementi Central (Beside NTUC).. Lots of good food & convenient super market!! Wow!! Yummy yummy!!

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3338
Posted on Saturday, November 26, 2005 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi starry,

I do know of the hassles of getting resales, alot of concerns to deal with. But i think i'm rather used to staying in resales, for the last few houses my parents bought, they went for resales.. Guess takes time to get a gd buy. Anyway still hoping to get a unit in TPY! Def not looking to stay in the West, no my part of the island.. heheh

U do keep a lookout for these couple of new flats behind the swimming pool in Clementi Central. Still building & landscaping being done, went by this afternoon. Have a gd feeling tt units not booked wld be put up for WIS or sthg similar

Excited Chris (chrissrp)

Post Number: 282
Posted on Sunday, November 27, 2005 - 9:53 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Finally chosen my wedding pics!! Manage to neg 5 more pics F.O.C..:-) But, as for not using their MUA on AD, can only rebate $150 lorz.. Better than nothing!! Haha..

mehmeh (mehmeh_lim)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 3346
Posted on Sunday, November 27, 2005 - 10:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Chris,

Wow, congrats on successfully selecting ur album pix.. Hmm, so in all how many pix in the album? U not bad in negotiating huh? heheheh & u still got some money back or transferred to other purposes?

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use