Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Wedding Discussion Forum - SingaporeBrides.com * Anything Under The Sun * Anyone knows of Hainanese marriage tradition? * Archive through October 10, 2005 < Previous Next >

girl (lilo_stitch)
Username: lilo_stitch

Post Number: 69
Posted on Monday, May 16, 2005 - 4:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi EL,
listen them talk slow will understand wat they are lor .. me speak not that perfect la ..... but believe keep try on day will speak as well as him hee..e.. sometime we oso try to speak w each other. as i find a know another lanagues not harm.

i heard that hainanese need roast pig n e big golden ball for wedding

as u 100% hainanese any sercet recipes to cook hainanese chicken rice :p

Misty (hilsywong)
Username: hilsywong

Post Number: 12
Posted on Monday, May 16, 2005 - 7:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow girl,
Bet your in-laws love you to bits for making the effort to learn the dialect. My husband is hokkien and even though I can understand it, I find speaking it very difficult. Maybe you will inherit all your MIL's secret recipes :P.. I've noticed from a couple of your postings in the other threads that you're overseas ah? Me too leh. Planning my wedding from UK. My FH in US. Hehehe... we're in the same boat.

Hi Pebs,
Wah u marrying within the clan :-) Not common nowadays liao.... I'm first in my family to marry out of the clan..hehehe. I'm also complete lost re traditional customs, but my wedding is still ages away, so i presumed my gran will basically tell me what to do nearer to the date.

EL... u an I 'tong xiang' leh... hehehe. I thought species like me extinct liao until I come across this thread :-)

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 70
Posted on Monday, May 16, 2005 - 8:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi misty,
My MIL hardly cook so no secret recipes. cool ... which part of uk are you? me is staying in manchester. do u have any msn or yahoo maybe we can chat more as we are e same boat . when is ur AD?

Misty (hilsywong)
Username: hilsywong

Post Number: 14
Posted on Tuesday, May 17, 2005 - 9:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

girl
I'm in scotland. I usually use msn rather than yahoo. PM you my contact :-)

blursotong (apostles)
Username: apostles

Post Number: 269
Posted on Thursday, June 02, 2005 - 9:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ladies, I am also a pure hainanese. It is very interesting to see hainanese pple comglomerate together in here. I stayed with my grandparents since young and my entire family converse in Hainanese when we gather. At times my parents speak to me in Hainanese too. I am so glad that I do speak the dialect.

Pebs (pebsb)
Username: pebsb

Post Number: 294
Posted on Thursday, June 02, 2005 - 1:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

girl - i think ur right leh. i heard my auntie said Hainanese girl needs roast pig n e big golden ball for wedding so troublesome, i tot can forget abt all these stuff. i think the golden ball is impossible to find in spore liao?

Do we need things like cakes, orange squuash? anything else ah? eg leave by what time *headache*

Misty - i didnt expect to marry within, but i guess such is fate. if u hear any tradn from yr granny, share with us ok? my grandparents no longer around, and parents (both side) quite lost when it comes to custom/tradition hah

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 270
Posted on Thursday, June 02, 2005 - 3:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pebs, I am trying to get the ball but not sure if i can still find it.

My mum refuses to have the roast pig from the guy side too. says it is too much trouble and must have someone who is very fortunate (meaning have grandchildre, filial children and have their partners still alive) to cut the pig into pieces in a manner.

Mum says need cakes for guo da li. and refreshments in the morning too. Sweet things (tian tian mi mi) before leave the house. Other than that nothing much for that day thou.

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 85
Posted on Thursday, June 02, 2005 - 5:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pebs,
hee..ehee... me not hainanese, kapo kapo here nia as my hubby is then hainanese ... those tradtion stuff is i heard from my mum .
when do u need those stuff, i have my friend to noe where to get e golden ball, only can tell u when i return back to s'pore during end jun as i dun have their contact w me, is it too late? when urs AD?

Pebs (pebsb)

Post Number: 295
Posted on Thursday, June 02, 2005 - 10:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi girl,
not late at all, my wedding is Feb 06 heh.
Pls email to pebsb2@yahoo.com.sg

EL (tanel)
Username: tanel

Post Number: 105
Posted on Wednesday, June 08, 2005 - 12:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello hainam nangs (must let go a few hainanese in the hainanese thread ma hehhee).
I 'lost' this thread; i forgot where this thread was!!!! That's why i MIA for awhile.

I was just discussing with my FH and mummy abt the golden ball. I tot the golden ball is such a rare and interesting tradition so much so that i insist on getting one for my wedding! But i read thru the thread; i tot i read somewhere that no shops in spore sell this anymore.

Girl- i also want the contact!! :-) me also not too late; my wedding next yr too hehehe

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 88
Posted on Wednesday, June 08, 2005 - 1:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no problem, hope my friend mobile did not change .

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 281
Posted on Wednesday, June 08, 2005 - 1:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi gal, can i pls have the contact of the golden ball pls. Thanks! :-)

kRaZy (krazy)
Username: krazy

Post Number: 227
Posted on Wednesday, June 08, 2005 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

we went looking for the old man who made these balls when we were preparing for our wedding. apparently, he is retired. we spoke to him and he said he does not have a place to make the balls... need a large wok and area...

hi girl, when you come back, can u also give me the contact so that i can pass it to my sis who is planning to get married. :-)

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 283
Posted on Thursday, June 09, 2005 - 9:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI krazy, yep i heard that the old man has retired. Hmm.. wonder if he can do it at our house and we provide the necessary equipment. heehhhe...:-)

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 96
Posted on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 12:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no good news so far abt e making of golden ball as my friend told me e one they noe had closed down. hope can give u gals good news soon as my in law is askin around for me

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 97
Posted on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 9:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi gals, manage to get who make golden ball but dun have full address. for those who stay east maybe know whereabout. e shop name call 'Kim Moh' located either at laguna park or laguna view (near marine parade). it a 2-3 storey unit shop.
hope as above infor help u gals.

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 328
Posted on Friday, July 01, 2005 - 2:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi girl...

thank you... Do you have the exact address pls?

I have also sourced another shop that does the balls. It is called the Pine Gardens at Ang Mo Kio. They got the balls from another person. It is around $18/ball i think.

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 99
Posted on Sunday, July 03, 2005 - 10:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi blursotong,
i dun have e actually add, do u noe marine parade area? laguna park or laguna view is quite near each other. will try to ask for more detail

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 331
Posted on Monday, July 04, 2005 - 2:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi girl,

:-)

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 100
Posted on Monday, July 04, 2005 - 11:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi blursotong, there's one some where around purivs street near bras basah but this one dunno e name. which make hanainese pastry

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 334
Posted on Tuesday, July 05, 2005 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yep I am aware of the purvis street side but i do not think they do the balls.

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 106
Posted on Tuesday, July 05, 2005 - 12:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

actually my friend got it from there few yrs back

hapi gal (hapi_gal)
Username: hapi_gal

Post Number: 13
Posted on Tuesday, July 05, 2005 - 5:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my FH is oso Hainanese. my MIL said hv to give me a chicken...alive one. Gosh! I said no nee coz i can't imagine the feathers flying aro the hse...heehee.

Very curious abt the golden ball, is it edible? How come my MIL never mention abt it? mayb i'm a cantonese, tat's y no ball for me :-)

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 339
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 10:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI girl...

I see. Maybe i will check it out there as well to compare the price. Thanks ya.

Hi hapi gal, it is not edible. It is like the dimsum sesame ball but in a big version with no filling. Live chicken sounds interesting. Maybe that is how your grandma did it when she got married then?

Pebs (pebsb)

Post Number: 348
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

U mean the ball is not edible? :-(( I was so looking forward to eating it.

I called pine garden. They charge abt $10 per ball, and U usu buy 1 pair for GDL. It comes from Msia. Size abt palm size. Apparently can last for abt 1 wk (so still can see during the wedding day since GDL abt 1 wk b4 AD).

Last time I watched on tv, the purvis st uncle demo the making. he make v big one, like big beach ball size.

kRaZy (krazy)

Post Number: 243
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can!! the ball can eat one... the ball will stay inflated for about 2-3 days and then will lose the air.

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 108
Posted on Wednesday, July 06, 2005 - 11:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

e one i saw oso very big one ... abt e size of balloon

Ryes (ryes)
Username: ryes

Post Number: 1609
Posted on Thursday, July 07, 2005 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I saw on tvmobile on this show where the uncle made this very big ball, is that the golden ball? I forgot the chinese name of it already..

Where can we still purchase this other than Pine garden? Hubby tot of presenting to my parents...

Pebs (pebsb)

Post Number: 352
Posted on Thursday, July 07, 2005 - 11:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya i also want BIG BIG ball. Anyone checked out the girl's contact at laguna?

Ryes - the uncle is the purvis st uncle who has since retired :-(

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 348
Posted on Thursday, July 07, 2005 - 11:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pebs, ya the balls very small from Pine Gardens. By the end of it, the texture of the balls would be so tough that you do not feel like eating it.

Hi ladies, my sis's had the big balls 3 yrs back by the old uncle from purvis st. So fortunate that she got it then.

I got no idea about eh laguna one. I am a west person not sure at all about the east side. Any east siders can advise better.

hapi gal (hapi_gal)

Post Number: 14
Posted on Thursday, July 07, 2005 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi blursotong,

I'm so sotong, tot the ball can b eaten....hee.
I've don't hv d chance to ask my hainanese bf y is it necessary to hv the ball coz he's out of town. Can anybody tell me pls?

Ryes (ryes)
Username: ryes

Post Number: 1614
Posted on Thursday, July 07, 2005 - 9:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey pebs,

yes lor, hb also say the uncle retired leh...so now who else do?

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 353
Posted on Friday, July 08, 2005 - 11:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi hapi gal,

It can be eaten (that is if you want to eat it after being on display for many days and the texture of the ball is going to be so tough). It depends if you mother-in-law would like you to put it in your wedding room as a blessing item for the wedding day. As for me, my mum did not insist it. Instead it is me. hehehe...

Ryes, call up Pine Garden, they do it as well.

hapi gal (hapi_gal)

Post Number: 18
Posted on Saturday, July 09, 2005 - 4:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Blursotong,

thks, i've got better knowledge of the ball now. i suppose it signifies "yuan yuan man man"?

pretty sure i'm not going to eat it after displaying for so many days.... my teeth is not that sharp

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 359
Posted on Tuesday, July 12, 2005 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi hapi gal...
I am not sure of the significance thou. guess it is meant that way...

:-)

ariesta (ariesta)
Username: ariesta

Post Number: 39
Posted on Thursday, July 21, 2005 - 6:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, i'm also a hainan nang. Haizzz... Can't really speak the dialect. Coz my family dun really converse in it. *My mom's hokkien* Hubby is pure hokkien. Everytime converse wif MIL in hokkien, she always laugh at me. Coz my hokkien is peppered wif Hainanese, and vice verse.

Btw, wat golden ball r u guys toking abt? Any other tings to take note?????

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 398
Posted on Monday, August 01, 2005 - 9:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ariesta. It is just a big fried dough ball that we are talking about it in Hainanese wedding.
I know we need roasted pig too but my mum is not going to request for it as we need a very blessed lady (i.e. with husband and children and grandchildren) to cut the pig into pieces. there is a method to cutting too. she finds it too troublesome so we are not having it.

ariesta (ariesta)
Username: ariesta

Post Number: 84
Posted on Tuesday, August 09, 2005 - 1:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanx~~~ maybe will check wif mi dad... the golden ball sounds soo interesting...

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 426
Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yep maybe your dad had it during his wedding! :-)

BenDi (ayoon)
Username: ayoon

Post Number: 10
Posted on Friday, September 02, 2005 - 2:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For all info, the big golden ball is edible. I am pure Hainanese too. Both parents, both side grannies from Hai Kou

girl (lilo_stitch)

Post Number: 219
Posted on Friday, September 02, 2005 - 2:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi bendi, do u know where to find golden ball?

Stacy (stacy)
Username: stacy

Post Number: 54
Posted on Friday, September 02, 2005 - 1:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Bendi,

Same same, grandparents also fm hai kou :-)

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 491
Posted on Friday, September 02, 2005 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi BenDi, my grandparents and father is from hai kou, 'shui hou' village. Which village are your grandparents from?

verie (stupeed)
Username: stupeed

Post Number: 222
Posted on Saturday, September 03, 2005 - 11:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow you guys are so cool to find the prosperity ball (that's the real name)!!! My mum is lookin for it for my wedding. Im hokkien but my mom's side is hainanese and this tradition is so rare and interesting that we want to incorporate it for some festivities! So pine garden makes it?

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 496
Posted on Monday, September 05, 2005 - 9:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi verie, yes Pine Gardens makes it but it is the size of a palm and each costs $10 per ball.

mushloom (mushloom)
Username: mushloom

Post Number: 365
Posted on Thursday, October 06, 2005 - 10:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi hi all hainanese brides... other than the golden ball, do we need any other things on GDL n AD?

alhana (alhana)
Intermediate Member
Username: alhana

Post Number: 2022
Posted on Friday, October 07, 2005 - 8:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mushloom

I didn't even have the golden ball. Our was very simple..didn't even have the roast pig or anything. For GDL, only bargained abt the bride price (ang bao), si dian jin and cakes to give out to relatives.

bluebells (bluebells)
Username: bluebells

Post Number: 28
Posted on Friday, October 07, 2005 - 2:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mushloom,

GDL also needs a basin (supposedly for the DIL to serve water for washing face to the MIL, but I got one that's good enough to wash vegetables), and the teapot and cups (for tea ceremony), pillows / bolsters, a pair of bedside lights (tian ding), a pair of towels. All these need to be given by the bride's mum hor. As for the roast pig, if don't want, can use red packets to represent.

BTW, I am a hainanese bride that got married years back.

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 619
Posted on Friday, October 07, 2005 - 4:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi alhana and mushloom, i also do not have roast pig. Going to be something simple too.

Hi bluebells, the woman side need to buy so many things one ah.. din't know that... did u get the balls.

blursotong (apostles)

Post Number: 620
Posted on Friday, October 07, 2005 - 4:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi alhana and mushloom, i also do not have roast pig. Going to be something simple too.

Hi bluebells, the woman side need to buy so many things one ah.. din't know that... did u get the balls.

BenDi (ayoon)
Username: ayoon

Post Number: 105
Posted on Friday, October 07, 2005 - 7:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I wanna have roast pig, golden ball, and shi tian jing...i very greedy...

koxxic (koxxic)
Username: koxxic

Post Number: 31
Posted on Saturday, October 08, 2005 - 12:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello gals, i'm also a hainanese though not pure.
father is hainanese and mum is hokkien. my FW is also half hainanese with a hainan father and a teochew mum.

really glad to find this thread. seems like there are quite a few traditional stuff required still for customary. Ball thingy? where to find?
as for live chicken, how to find with all the bird flu thingy now right? haha.

anyway, i can't speak the language also. really sad cos i grew up with my grandma(mum side), we speak hokkien all along and worst still, i dun even ustand hainanese.

mushloom (mushloom)

Post Number: 370
Posted on Saturday, October 08, 2005 - 9:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

btw the gdl lady told me that the golden ball is meant for the AD and not GDL. she mentioned that the ball will follow us to the male side, after the tea ceremony then to our new place and place near the bed. suppose to let it deflate on its own.

so those who had the golden ball during ur wedding, can you tell me when is the golden ball supposed to be present, and wat to do with the ball?

tink in the one of the posting in this thread mentioned that pine garden do make these kind of balls.

koxxic (koxxic)
Username: koxxic

Post Number: 33
Posted on Saturday, October 08, 2005 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OK..after hearing so many traditional custom for hainanese, can we come up with a summary as to what is needed to be done on AD, what things are required, what are the steps to follow?

kRaZy (krazy)

Post Number: 255
Posted on Saturday, October 08, 2005 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mushloom:
the golden ball is supposed to be placed at the altar one.

my mum also mentioned need fresh pin1 lang2.

Pebs (pebsb)

Post Number: 450
Posted on Sunday, October 09, 2005 - 12:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mushloom - i heard a different version of the golden ball. Golden ball is given in a pair by groom to bride family during GDL (3 days b4 AD). During AD, the golden balls are broken up and shared to be eaten by all.

So which version is correct?

Yes, pine garden sell those balls. Think its abt $12 each (1 small handful size).

mushloom (mushloom)

Post Number: 371
Posted on Sunday, October 09, 2005 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

alamak then who is right? the boss told me tat the golden ball cannot be broken coz it symbolises yuan yuan man man leh. who got elders at home can double check? tink me will try to sound my father out on this

kRaZy (krazy)

Post Number: 256
Posted on Sunday, October 09, 2005 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

to my knowledge,
the golden balls are not to be broken.. must let it deflate itself. but you can eat it after it is deflated.

Pebs (pebsb)

Post Number: 452
Posted on Sunday, October 09, 2005 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i use wrong word, not 'broken' but deflate (as what kRazy said). Think after 3 days or 1 week (depend how far advance U GDL), the ball will deflat by itself. After that, can tear it and share among all to eat?

bluebells (bluebells)
Username: bluebells

Post Number: 29
Posted on Monday, October 10, 2005 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Blur Sotong,

yes, I got the golden balls, and Mushloom was right. I had it on the AD, and it stay there until deflated. And also, my mum told me the bedside lamp was to stay alight for 3 whole days; so in the end I bought bedside lamps from Ikea, kept the box and just use the box to cover the lamps when I want to sleep loh. come to think about it, quite funny. But the lamp signifies tian(1) ding(1), so better listen loh.

One more important thing : if your younger brother / nephew who is going to open the door and let your hubby out of the car, please make sure that he is not born in the year of tiger. Was told that if the person opening the car door is born in the year of tiger, the bride will have a hard time conceiving in future, and may even remain childless. Not sure true or not, but ning(4) ke(3) xin(4) qi(2) you(1). Happened to one relative anyway, and in the end, the relative in question adopted a child.

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use