Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Wedding Discussion Forum - SingaporeBrides.com * Anything Under The Sun * Advice needed for Hakka tradition < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through March 24, 2005Serene61 3-24-05  12:24 am
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Daphne (dolphin48)
Username: dolphin48

Post Number: 61
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI all

I'm also a hakka and hubby is Teo Chew...
But I think my mum will follow more of Teo Chew cos we not familiar with Hakka tradition and my mum is a Teo Chew.

Just want to ask, is it a must for the Roast Pig? My mum requests not to have it at all as my grandmother is a strict vegetarian and in place for mandarin oranges, the long feng candles and pin jin and that's all. No need cakes or whatsoever.... Is this common?

kite~ (kite~)
Username: kite~

Post Number: 1867
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Daphne,

My mum actually request for a roasted pig. it means virgin.....However, we didnt ask for a real pig, but a red ang bao to replace the roasted pig.

Basically, long feng candles, pin jin n cakes, wines/hard liquor, oranges are the most basic items.

Daphne (dolphin48)
Username: dolphin48

Post Number: 62
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 1:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi kite

So the red ang bao can be used to replace the roasted pig?

Mocca (mocca_pooh)
Username: mocca_pooh

Post Number: 6
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 3:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i'm a hakka n hubby is hokkien ... due to not familiar with hakkan tradition, then mum is hokkien, we do most of the things the hokkien ways plus a bit mixture of hakka ...

i went to the jurong west shop to buy the things n we ask the lady there on some of the traditions .. find quite similar to what cheers posted.

maybe can check with her

think there's another similar shop somewhere in bt timah too

hope this helps

kite~ (kite~)
Username: kite~

Post Number: 1869
Posted on Saturday, March 26, 2005 - 12:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Daphne,

yup :-)

Karen Agatha Goh (karengoh21)
Username: karengoh21

Post Number: 12
Posted on Monday, April 11, 2005 - 3:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

im a hokkien and my FH is a hakka.. anyone has this combi or know wat shld the custom be for all the procedures (from an chuan, GDL, rite thru to AD customery)... Would really appreciate if someone can help..

Cin (cincin)
Username: cincin

Post Number: 102
Posted on Wednesday, April 13, 2005 - 11:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Both hubby and I are hakka....Anybody heard of AD need to give elder brother ang pow?
When the wedding cake must be given to relative?during GDL or when we are delivering the invitation cards? Please help, im really confused abt many many things.

Hui Min (min_min)
Username: min_min

Post Number: 37
Posted on Friday, April 15, 2005 - 11:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi All! Havent been in here for some time.

Juz wondering, if during the AD, we don't follow any customs like those good timing things, what is the least procedure that we need to do? Like Guo Da Li, an chuang stuff....Find that these are really troublesome, but not sure if it is a must or some things can be omitted....

Sigh....should have juz opted for honeymoon wedding......

Cin (cincin)

Post Number: 104
Posted on Friday, April 15, 2005 - 11:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hmmmm....can somebody help me with the question i have?
thanks so much, im so stress up over wedding planning.

everafter_03 (everafter_03)
Username: everafter_03

Post Number: 20
Posted on Saturday, April 16, 2005 - 9:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Cin,

I'm also an hakka. Not too sure about giving ang pow to the elder brother... However, the cakes & the invitation cards are distributed to your relatives when you Guo da li, usually about 2 to 3 wks before your AD wedding.

Cin (cincin)

Post Number: 105
Posted on Saturday, April 16, 2005 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

by then will it be too late to give out invitation cards?cos the date for guo da li is one week before the wedding given by the shifu. can the cake be given to relative when i give out invitation card abt 3week before...that mean the guo da li will be without the wedding cake.

RainnQQ (rainnqq)
Username: rainnqq

Post Number: 127
Posted on Sunday, February 26, 2006 - 6:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This post was last updated pretty long ago.
I'm a hakka and my FH is hainan. That should mean, the GDL and AD custom should follow hainan instead of hakka is it?

taytbh (berry_tay)
Username: berry_tay

Post Number: 85
Posted on Tuesday, August 15, 2006 - 7:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am hakka bride and I want to know what is the tradition for Guo Da Li, what should I get and what should my hubby get for me. As I am the 1st one to get marry so I dunno where should I start and how should I start.

Appreciate if anyone of u can help.

cactus_79 (cactus_79)
Username: cactus_79

Post Number: 344
Posted on Wednesday, August 16, 2006 - 9:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, my mom's a hakka. When she got married to my dad like 30 years ago, my grandparents (both hakkas) wrote to the clan association for advice. You may want to seek them out. My mom maintains links with Char Yong Hui Guan (but not sure if this is the name of the Hakka clan association).

Most people (including my grandparents' generation) cannot remember their own wedding prep, cos these were dealt with by their own parents. So if you want the "proper" way, the clan association sohuld be able to help.

taytbh (berry_tay)

Post Number: 86
Posted on Wednesday, August 16, 2006 - 12:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh okie thanks to you cactus_79. But then, I afraid once i ask those clan, si ka li they advise with lots of very tradition stuff then I really will faint liao leh, hehe....

thanks again ya

cactus_79 (cactus_79)

Post Number: 365
Posted on Wednesday, August 16, 2006 - 1:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

*Grin

I think if u r keen to follow tradition, then might as well, follow to the end. No point pick and choose right?

Or else, why don't you ask your elders in your family? Like your grandparents? Cos ultimately, your parents are likely to ask your grandparents or your older aunts/uncles. So if you seek their input, then it's more than half the battle won!

taytbh (berry_tay)

Post Number: 87
Posted on Wednesday, August 16, 2006 - 5:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I dun have any grandparents only my dad, cos he not sure so I want to get some info for him loh.

*Grin*

cactus_79 (cactus_79)

Post Number: 428
Posted on Thursday, August 17, 2006 - 10:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I see.... sorry... I'm not able to help cos my mom can't remember her own wedding cos all done by my granddad and my granddad has passed away. My mom cannot recall any particular tradition unique to Hakka.. perhaps cos Hakka in China used to lead a normadic lifestyle - always move from place to place. so pick up cultures from other dialect groups...

♪ twinkle ♪ (chendol)
Username: chendol

Post Number: 419
Posted on Tuesday, September 05, 2006 - 2:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my mum is hakka too! she had a roasted pig from my dad, but my FH will not be providing that... i don't really see the significance also lah... and thought it's more a cantonese tradition anyhow. :-)

Can you guys speak hakka? I can, cos brought up by my grandma. :-)

snow_baby (snow_baby)
Username: snow_baby

Post Number: 148
Posted on Friday, November 24, 2006 - 4:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi twinkle.
just kpo- why ur FH not provide the roasted pig ?
its suppose to signify taht u are a "V" and pure leh...
me & HB both Hakka. we had a mid sized one.

ericia chong (ericia2000)
Username: ericia2000

Post Number: 118
Posted on Tuesday, November 13, 2007 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wanna relive this thread..
im a hakka..
hakka tradition..

http://www.cbs.org.tw/english/hakka/p3.html

http://www.chinats.com/fujian/folk_customs/hakka_village/002.htm

Joyous (joyous97)
Username: joyous97

Post Number: 21
Posted on Thursday, November 15, 2007 - 1:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My mum is a hakka but during my wedding, everything is replaced by ang bao....

Too many traditions to follow...

Anyone here eat rei cha...I cook but my hubby does not know how to appreciate so I ended up cooking his dishes, which is peranakan dishes....

Kel (puffykel)
Username: puffykel

Post Number: 33
Posted on Thursday, December 20, 2007 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i am a hakka bride... still quite confused on when to deliver the roasted pig

zhenzhen (zhenzhen84)
Username: zhenzhen84

Post Number: 7
Posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2008 - 3:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

roasted pig should be together with the groom when they go ur house to 'snatch bride'?

cactus_79 (cactus_79)
Intermediate Member

Post Number: 4277
Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no. when the bride returns with the groom to her parents' home. but for simplicity and to save time, people may not care anymore.

Cynthia Tan (cotton_hill)
Intermediate Member
Username: cotton_hill

Post Number: 3125
Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2008 - 3:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my pig was delived by the seller not by groom to save trouble. and it was delivered early in the morning to fit our schedule.

pinky81 (pinky81)
Username: pinky81

Post Number: 116
Posted on Wednesday, April 16, 2008 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cynthia Tan: I did try to tell my parents about getting the seller to deliver instead of the groom but she feels offended if we do it in this way. Sigh.. duno what is the difference also.

Cynthia Tan (cotton_hill)
Intermediate Member
Username: cotton_hill

Post Number: 3204
Posted on Thursday, April 17, 2008 - 9:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello pinky
if that is the case, maybe get the smallest pig for convenience if deliver by groom?
Mine is the biggest one - cost $300 - 400 so no way the groom can deliver.

pinky81 (pinky81)
Username: pinky81

Post Number: 212
Posted on Friday, September 19, 2008 - 8:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Cynthia, I guess I have to get the right comfortable size for the groom to deliver.

Want to check with Hakka brides around too. Do you wear yellow gold jewellery with your wedding gown from your house to the groom house? To my mom, she say it is rather common practice but I do not find it this way. It's a mismatch to wear gold with bridal gown lor.

sangay (sangay)
Username: sangay

Post Number: 2
Posted on Wednesday, December 08, 2010 - 7:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I don't know anything about hakka, but a dictionary on its own may not be enough to learn to speak.

Apart from any grammatical differences with mandarin, there may also be other things like tone sandhi for which you will need a proper reference.

rosemarie (rosemarie)
Username: rosemarie

Post Number: 39
Posted on Friday, January 07, 2011 - 1:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've been studying Mandarin by myself for a while. Anyways, after I become good at Mandarin, I plan to study Hakka, the language of my boyfriend. I guess I can communicate with him in English or Mandarin, but I think he would really appreciate it if I knew his mother tongue (not to mention that his parents probably know very little Mandarin and basically no English). However, I can find absolutely no resources for Hakka in English, and the materials that I find for Hakka all seem to be either in traditional Chinese (which is not what I am learning for now) or contain no text at all (in other words, all audio).

Are there any good resources I can study it through? How about some dictionaries they have for Mandarin, where they list the characters and their corresponding phonetic romanizations?

Although Hakka is just "on my hit list" for now, I just want to track down resources now, because they seem to be so far and few in between.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use