Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Wedding Discussion Forum - SingaporeBrides.com * A Meeting Place For All Brides * Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'? < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through January 07, 2005honeygem@GF60 1-07-05  12:30 pm
Archive through February 04, 2005honeygem@GF60 2-04-05  9:44 pm
Archive through August 16, 2005Elizabeth60 8-16-05  4:03 pm
Archive through August 19, 2005Elizabeth60 8-19-05  1:13 pm
Archive through August 25, 2005Elizabeth60 8-25-05  9:32 am
Archive through September 10, 2005Elizabeth60 9-10-05  8:24 am
Archive through October 03, 2005cuclainne60 10-03-05  8:29 am
Archive through November 07, 2005priscilla tan60 11-07-05  6:20 pm
Archive through December 11, 2005de_luxe60 12-11-05  7:44 pm
Archive through January 26, 2006Pink Bunny60 1-26-06  11:20 am
Archive through February 09, 2006Squeakers60 2-09-06  11:20 pm
Archive through March 04, 2006Squeakers60 3-04-06  11:47 am
Archive through March 28, 2006freaky60 3-28-06  4:57 pm
Archive through April 14, 2006Mrs N60 4-14-06  12:47 am
Archive through May 16, 2006amoeba888860 5-16-06  2:24 pm
Archive through May 31, 2006Mrs N60 5-31-06  6:49 pm
Archive through June 15, 2006cuclainne60 6-15-06  4:49 pm
Archive through July 17, 2006Mrs N60 7-17-06  3:05 pm
Archive through August 19, 2006priscilla tan60 8-19-06  3:08 pm
Archive through September 05, 2006cuclainne60 9-05-06  3:56 pm
Archive through October 01, 2006Elizabeth60 10-01-06  3:55 pm
Archive through October 19, 2006cuclainne60 10-19-06  1:53 pm
Archive through November 18, 2006priscilla tan60 11-18-06  10:15 pm
Archive through December 29, 2006priscilla tan60 12-29-06  6:17 am
Archive through February 03, 2007emilia jo60 2-03-07  1:44 pm
Archive through March 26, 2007emilia jo60 3-26-07  2:50 pm
Archive through April 06, 2007Chrisl60 4-06-07  11:46 pm
Archive through April 16, 2007tootsieroll60 4-16-07  9:15 pm
Archive through May 21, 2007priscilla tan60 5-21-07  10:30 pm
Archive through June 16, 2007priscilla tan60 6-16-07  11:58 pm
Archive through July 24, 2007bride bride60 7-24-07  3:44 pm
Archive through August 17, 2007Georgina60 8-17-07  11:56 pm
Archive through August 31, 2007fruitchick60 8-31-07  2:29 am
Archive through September 10, 2007fruitchick60 9-10-07  7:09 am
Archive through September 21, 2007emilia jo60 9-21-07  4:30 pm
Archive through October 18, 2007cuclainne60 10-18-07  8:32 am
Archive through November 25, 2007December Bride60 11-25-07  11:44 pm
Archive through January 23, 2008cuclainne60 1-23-08  5:21 pm
Archive through March 03, 2008maplehue60 3-03-08  6:21 pm
Archive through March 11, 2008babysheep2260 3-11-08  1:44 am
Archive through March 21, 2008Mittens60 3-21-08  11:33 pm
Archive through April 11, 2008Elizabeth60 4-11-08  2:37 pm
Archive through May 14, 2008maplehue60 5-14-08  1:48 pm
Archive through July 02, 2008cuclainne60 7-02-08  9:46 pm
Archive through July 09, 2008Elizabeth60 7-09-08  6:25 pm
Archive through July 19, 2008Mrs N60 7-19-08  2:58 am
Archive through July 29, 2008cuclainne60 7-29-08  4:09 pm
Archive through August 09, 2008maplehue60 8-09-08  11:47 am
Archive through August 20, 2008tootsieroll60 8-20-08  11:25 pm
Archive through September 12, 2008emilia jo60 9-12-08  10:21 am
Archive through September 27, 2008maplehue60 9-27-08  10:28 am
Archive through October 14, 2008cuclainne60 10-14-08  2:08 pm
Archive through November 05, 2008Mrs N60 11-05-08  5:46 pm
Archive through November 16, 2008de_luxe60 11-16-08  9:47 pm
Archive through November 24, 2008Elizabeth60 11-24-08  6:26 pm
Archive through December 27, 2008Clara60 12-27-08  9:00 am
Archive through February 10, 2009cuclainne60 2-10-09  9:55 am
Archive through March 24, 2009cuclainne60 3-24-09  12:35 pm
Archive through April 24, 2009Cat60 4-24-09  9:19 am
Archive through May 15, 2009cuclainne60 5-15-09  10:57 am
Archive through July 13, 2009cuclainne60 7-13-09  5:34 pm
Archive through October 16, 2009Elizabeth60 10-16-09  12:40 pm
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Mrs N (mrs_n)
Username: mrs_n

Post Number: 783
Posted on Friday, October 16, 2009 - 4:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Laetitia It was the lady at ICA that suggested the 'Mrs'. Not sure if the other girls have Mrs on theirs as well. I didn't do double barrel as my own surname is too long! You can use either name. I tend to use my married name in the UK while I left all my bank, insurance etc in my maiden name in Sg. So long as your original name remains on the IC they have no issue with the addition of the married name.

We did our church and ROM in the UK and then 2 months later had a blessing in church and dinner in Sg. We are based in the UK so the Sg side of things were taken care of by my family who basically told us just to turn up! So we just planned for the UK one or rather my hubby did as I was busy writing up my thesis at that time. I used confetti a little just to get ideas. But our UK wedding was rather simple and we did most things ourselves. We had the ceremony in the church that we both go to which is in Retford and then had the reception in our village hall. Nothing fancy really.

Where is your hubby from? Sounds like a good idea to have it near his hometown if his brother is willing to help. At least he will know the area well and be able to source a venue for you and maybe negotiate a good deal.

Guess you could consider Nottingham too if you know the city well! Nottingham is our county capital but I've never really been around the city except for the area near the train station! Ha! Ha! It isn't very close to us as we are at the northern end of the county. Have you been to Georgetown? Looks like a nice place to have a wedding! :-)

Liz good luck with the workshops. Have you advertise them on the SGM?

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)
Username: liz4jeroen

Post Number: 1348
Posted on Friday, October 16, 2009 - 4:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sharon, wat's SGM?

Mrs N (mrs_n)

Post Number: 784
Posted on Saturday, October 17, 2009 - 6:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Singapore Motherhood! :-)

emilia jo (eminozy)
Username: eminozy

Post Number: 359
Posted on Sunday, October 18, 2009 - 8:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey ya'alll...

Nissa, Yeah its been 3 crazy active weekends and I will have another weekend where my cousin from US is visiting.. so that would be fun and then it will quiet down like nobody's business.

Mrs N.... Spring? LOL. Brissy is weird.. we suddenly find ourselves in Summer in the beginning of Winter. Very odd and hard to understand but the Jacarandas are blooming everywhere.

Liz.. it is important to be the first in SG and make it big so that people will remember! 3 months is very intense. I used to be so cool being apart from Chris. Now its so hard... 1 night already sad....kekekeke. He especially cannot tahan not being able to makan my cooked food! hehehahahahehe

Laetitia- Welcome! Its quite easy to organise if you are free and able to form a good r'ship with the people/vendors for your wedding. I did it through emails, phones and visits... while i was in SG, Austria and Australia. One of the best way to find good contacts are also through this websites and theknot.com. :-) Best of luck! but probably if you have too much to do, a wedding planner is indeed more realiable and a very good friend to assist you when you most in need of help!

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1349
Posted on Monday, October 19, 2009 - 3:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Emilia,

It's not a matter of being the first to break into the market in Singapore. My goal has always been wanting to bring awareness to fellow Singaporean via workshops. It's going to be a challenge but I don't believe in forcing. If they're comfortable, then they will do it. If not, it's ok. I will be holding a talk/presentation on dance therapy and a performance. There is a difference between therapy and workshops. The thing is coz I'm trained as a therapist, in workshops, I do it very differently unlike the typical workshops ppl attend. In real therapy, it takes time and a real process. The workshops will at least help to bring an awareness to how to pay attentin to oneself, body, mind, heart and spirit. :-)

Ja! Jeroen went on niz trip and it's tough. For the good cause, we just have to tahan. :-)

Chrisl (christie79)
Username: christie79

Post Number: 352
Posted on Thursday, November 05, 2009 - 12:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

culcainne~ opps sorry missed your post to me..the 'unfurnished' ones should be ok..heheh me kaypoh lah! :-)

Georgina (georginat)
Username: georginat

Post Number: 303
Posted on Friday, December 25, 2009 - 12:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello ladies !!! Merry Christmas to all of you !!

we were back to sg end nov but busy letting Luke adjusting back to life in sg..for the 1st week, he was awoke till 5 am !! gosh !! made me so tired..

nisa, maybe we can have a gathering at your place? would be nice for the kids to play in the garden..

Mrs N (mrs_n)

Post Number: 785
Posted on Friday, December 25, 2009 - 8:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Merry Christmas everybody!

Gina long time no 'see'. Are you in Sg now?

I'm in Sg until 1 Jan. D also had a bit of problems adjusting to Sg time and weather at the beginning. He is much better now but we will be going back soon ... next Friday!!

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1350
Posted on Friday, December 25, 2009 - 9:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ah u r back! Is Luke suffering from jet lag?

Arrange one when I'm back in Feb, I haven't seen you ladies yet! : )

Merry Xmas to all!

Mrs N, r u having a great time in SG?

de_luxe (de_luxe)
Username: de_luxe

Post Number: 426
Posted on Saturday, December 26, 2009 - 8:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just realised that I've not posted here for ages. Hope all of you are well and had a good Christmas!

Gina - where did you come back from? Saudi or Oz?

cuclainne (cuclainne)
Advanced Member
Username: cuclainne

Post Number: 5421
Posted on Sunday, December 27, 2009 - 1:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Gina, just saw your post. Yes, you're welcome to come by .. were you in Saudi with Julio?

maplehue (maplehue)
Username: maplehue

Post Number: 148
Posted on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello ladies,
Its been awhile since my last post here. Hope everyone had a good X'mas and enjoying time with family and friends.
Gina and Mrs.N, enjoy Singapore and the good food..and perhaps shopping too :-) We are in Vietnam and just resting. Been busy with work and exhausted from being sick, so the fresh air is really good.
Liz, not long it will be your turn to be in Sg. All the best and have fun!
Nisa, how's your veggies garden?

Happy New Year to everyone!! Hugs.

de_luxe (de_luxe)

Post Number: 427
Posted on Tuesday, December 29, 2009 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi maplehue, nice to hear from you. Hope you are well rested from your Vietnam break. Have you been sick again in Shanghai? Your health did not improve? Anyhow, hope you and Jeff are getting on well in Shanghai. Take care!

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1351
Posted on Tuesday, December 29, 2009 - 3:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

O yes Hernie, I can't wait for Feb to come! Take great care!

I see u ladies in SG! This time, we've to meet. The last few rounds were too short & hectic to do so. How abt it, ladies in SG? :-)

maplehue (maplehue)

Post Number: 149
Posted on Friday, January 01, 2010 - 5:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi deluxe, nice to hear from you too. Hope you and family are well. Yes, I've been a bit sick in Shanghai. First was the flu+fever, then down with an acute bronchitis. We are enjoying Shanghai, but definitely not the pollution. Have a great new year! Tickles to babyJ. :-)

Liz, you must be excited to go back to Sg. I always get jealous when friends go back there. Hee. Happy for you. :-) One thing I miss about Singapore is the yummy food!! All ready for the workshops?

Hi to everyone else. Take care and enjoy the new fresh year :-)

andrealiu (andrealiu)
Username: andrealiu

Post Number: 2
Posted on Saturday, January 02, 2010 - 2:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi all, i am new here..a very happy 2010 to everyone!

laetitia: i am also in the mids of planning both a wedding in UK and SG. how's your preparation coming along? I have to say it was quite overwhelming initially. We were lucky to have found a good venue - oaks farm in croydon,london. They basically recommended everything else we needed and were very easy to work with. The SG side is more complicated...lots of emailing and calling. we are going back in feb to look at photographers and MUA ect

hard work all in all!

cuclainne (cuclainne)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5436
Posted on Monday, January 04, 2010 - 12:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

maplehue, saw your vacation pics .. so lovely .. but quite jauh to get to muine yah ..

my veggie garden is coming along nicely .. i've started planting some other things too :-) when are you coming back to sg for a visit?

congrats andrealiu

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1352
Posted on Tuesday, January 05, 2010 - 5:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Hernie,

Saw your FB. Is everything ok?

I'm looking forward to SG! I still have to do up a brochure for mothers & baby as requested by a friend. In the midst of it. And also transfering the multiply to blog. I'm calling my pte practice Embodied Movement. I take one step at a time.

Welcome andrea! :-)

Cul, I would love to see your garden when I'm in SG! Can I? I'm a garden craze! LOL!

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1353
Posted on Saturday, January 09, 2010 - 3:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ladies, Can give me feedback on my new blog so that I can improve? Thks! :-) Not completely done, more to add.

www.embodiedmovement-dancetherapy.com

maplehue (maplehue)

Post Number: 150
Posted on Saturday, January 09, 2010 - 5:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

We just got home. Shanghai was 4degC.Such a change in temperature. Our house was 8 degC when we got it and it is taking so long to warm up. Everything is freaking cold!

Cuclainne, Muine was fun. It has been one of my best hols with relaxing, pampering and doing nothing for 3 weeks. Will miss the sleep in for sure! but yes, it is quite a journey to Muine. We used to stay in Saigon for one night before driving there, but now can't be bothered. It took us 6 hours this time to get to Saigon. It was horrible. Can't wait to see your garden lah. We are not sure when we are coming back to sg, but I am hoping we could squeeze a few days before we go anywhere for the summer holiday (which we don't know where yet).
Maybe we can meet up again yeah when we are in Sg:-)

Are you guys going anywhere this summer?

Liz, Im fine now. Thanks for everything :-) I like the new name 'Embodied Movement' :-) You are going to be great. Is everything ready for the workshops in Sg? Or are you still tuning things?

I've read your blog when I was in Vietnam. Love it, but I am having trouble logging in to it or any blogs (as expected) from China. Haven't been able to log in to facebook either and when I did, there were no photos shown. I'm going to take a break from it for awhile I think. Maybe it is a good thing since this 6 months is going to be a SUPER busy time.

My textbooks have arrived from Melbourne and I am still waiting for the notes and cds to arrive. First 6-7 months of 2010 will be busy. With a fulltime job, it is going to be a lot of reading, researching, stress, anxiety and everything. I am trying to prepare myself mentally :-) I have also already told my Mom about it incase she wants to come during the exams time. I know she will not bother me, but I told my Mom, its not her, its ME! I know I would want to chat, eat, go out, etc with her. Can't focus for sure. I just need to be in my own shell during this time...Even when I was in Melbourne completing my degrees, I became a hermit. Only this time, I have J with me and I know I will need him to get through it.

Good luck my dear on your coming projects. I look forward to reading/hearing about it and seeing you grow as a dance therapist.

Welcome Andrea and Laetitia. :-)

Georgina (georginat)

Post Number: 307
Posted on Monday, January 11, 2010 - 5:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi nisa, will go to ELin's bday party with Luke :-) Pls email me your address, thanks.

Elizabeth, we will still be in sg till ard 25th feb..after that we will join Julio in Saudi, now in the midst of applying the visa to go there...

de_luxe, nisa, we came back from spain, luke and i were in Madrid for 3 mths, back to sg end nov..so will join Julio after CNY..

so long did fo to Facebook, and was happy to see Lisa's preggy photos ! didnt know she is expecting till just now..welcome to Mummy club, Lisa !

Mrs. N ! missed you this time ! did D enjoy his time in Sg?

maplehue, sure, when back to sg, will definitely eat eat eat ! always put on weight when back..hope you are feeling better, do take care !

chrisl, hows life ?

maplehue (maplehue)

Post Number: 151
Posted on Tuesday, January 12, 2010 - 6:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Gina...yeah same here. Whenever I'm back in Sg, will put weight for sure :-) Take care and I'm sure your family is looking forward to seeing you and Luke for CNY!! I am feeling better, thanks...and has started work again this week. With the pollution, cold weather and work, it sometimes can make me so run down.

Deluxe...it has been hard to get on facebook since we came back from Vietnam and if I did, there is always error on the page and either I can't see photos or write comments or BOTH! Hope Johann had a great birthday.

Happy Birthday dear Johann...from aunt Hernie :-) :-) :-)

Hello everyone else!!

..and Nisa saw the event invitation. Thank you!! But couldn't select any button to write comments. Won't be able to make it again this time as we will be in Shanghai. I'm sure it'll be a fun one :-) Lucky girl!

Elizabeth (liz4jeroen)

Post Number: 1354
Posted on Tuesday, January 12, 2010 - 6:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Maplehue, u r most welcome! :-) Thanks for the feedback and your encouragement. Yes, I've got the details of the 8 workshops done and now officially launched my website/blog! :-) No worries about it! U can sign for the newsletter whenever u can do so. :-)

I've faith that you can do it in your study. Take it one step at a time. Don't forget to take a break in between and you can do it with your mum when she is there. :-)

Gina, we got to meet b4 u leave for Saudi then. Haven't got the chance to meet u n Luke yet.

de_luxe (de_luxe)

Post Number: 428
Posted on Monday, January 18, 2010 - 6:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

maplehue good luck with your studies! do remember to take a break every now and then and chill out! :-)

I heard from a fren that in CHina you can get "uncensored" internet access if you link up with some providers so route access such that it doesn't come into contact with their firewall. I heard it's more expensive but not sure if it's illegal.

J had a great birthday... still slowly opening the pressies... we'll have new toys to last him for a couple of months :-)

gina hope to see you at elin's party too! Haven't had the chance to meet up with you all these years. I'll be going with Johann.

Belated welcome to Andrea & Laetitia... as you can tell, all of us here have been married for a couple of years already and mainly use this thread to keep in touch. While we can't be of very much help with wedding planning (our info is prob outdated)... we can certainly emphatize with the challenges of being in a mixed and/or LDR relationship / marriage. All the best for your planning!

Chrisl (christie79)
Username: christie79

Post Number: 353
Posted on Wednesday, February 10, 2010 - 9:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey wow..been a while since i've dropped by..

welcome Andrea!

Gina- Gosh! just saw your msg, im good..busy in some ways cos pre CNY preps..hehe starting my own traditions here at home in norway. Will be inviting in laws for a dinner celebrations/mini party this CNY Eve..and later i'll be busy with making fortune cookies :-)

How have you been?? to? saw FB pics of luke. He is so charming!

Hi to the rest! :-)

Georgina (georginat)

Post Number: 308
Posted on Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 5:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ladies !!

deluxe, it was nice to meet u and yohann :-) and thanks for taking some of Luke's pics :-) too bad the boys are too young, can't really play together yet

nisa, elin and sofi really look alike ! and they are so pretty ! Really big eyes they have!

ladies , i am now in riyadh, came over 5 days ago..still in the midst of settling..will update more soon...

take care all of u and will be back soon !

Ailing Seah (als)
Username: als

Post Number: 30
Posted on Tuesday, April 13, 2010 - 3:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi All!

need some advise about name changing.....

We are getting married in Norway this July and I believe the marriage cert will be in norwegian... I am hoping to get my Singapore passport renew in July when we're back for our SIngapore wedding celebration... but thought it might be a good idea to renew the passport and change the name on it at the same time.....

So can anyone advise:
1) Do I need to get the marriage cert translated into English for name change purposes?

2) Do I get a new passport with the name change or do they just make amendment to the existing one?

3) Is it neccessary to update the name on the IC? Can I not just update my passport?

4) How long does it take for them to change the name on the passport? We've limited time in Singapore.

Does anyone know of any website that gives us step by step guide on how to have the marriage name added?

Thanks a million in advance!

Yvonne Lim (ennovy23)
Username: ennovy23

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, April 16, 2010 - 3:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi All!
I just had my Wedding.

Wedding Item to let go.

1)Wedding Heel w/crystal (Silver)Size 4 -
Anna Nucci
2)Heart Shaped Ang Bao box

If you are interested, Please kindly email me as ennovy_23@hotmail.com

cuclainne (cuclainne)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5584
Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ailing, i think the best person to help you would be chrisl (she's got a norwegian husband too) but they got married in sg. i am sure that the marriage certificate will be in both norwegian and english .. i know it's not the same document but even my husband's conversion cert contained swedish, english and arabic so don't worry too much yah :-)

1. think it should also contain english, otherwise enjoy wedding first and then think of this :P

2. if your passport is not even close to expiring yet, they will just include it in your current passport. mine was handwritten in by the officer, and signed and endorsed of course.

3. it's up to you if you want to include your married name on your IC or not. i recently added mine in (and i took the opportunity to do my passport as well) only because it was time for me to re-register my IC - this was after 4 years' of marriage .. hahahaha.

4. very fast, especially if you make an appointment with them online instead of going to ICA and taking a queue number there.

you can try the ICA website for more details.

HTHs.

Laetitia (coriela)
Username: coriela

Post Number: 205
Posted on Tuesday, May 04, 2010 - 1:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello ladies,

Not been coming into the thread for something and wow... so many post. I am kinda lost reading the posts though. Believe most of your knew each other way back when the thread was first started.

I am currently planning my SG wedding and then a smaller one in UK. Will have the church blessings in UK instead. As since we are both based in SG, thought will be better to plan it this way.

Welcome Audrea and Ailing.

Audrea - is your HTB from London? Mine is from Southwest, Devonshire. How is your wedding preparation coming along?

Ailing - When is your wedding? Must be very exciting!

Jun (junio)
Username: junio

Post Number: 11
Posted on Sunday, October 31, 2010 - 2:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Laetitia

My HTB is also english.. I am wondering how are u going to let UK govt recognise the marriage certificate in UK that the both of you are legally married?

Many Thanks
Jun

Laetitia (coriela)

Post Number: 447
Posted on Sunday, October 31, 2010 - 9:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Jun,

Singapore is a commonwealth country. Hence, the British gov recognises Singapore marriage cert as valid. :-) You do not need to do anything more than register your marriage in Singapore.

When is your big day?

Jun (junio)

Post Number: 12
Posted on Monday, November 01, 2010 - 8:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hopefully Nov 2011..

Oooo Don't have to do anything.. I read somewhere that we need to register at GRO..

I saw at ROM website that foreigner need to prove that they are not married.

Do you happen to know how do they obtain a marriage status verification from UK?

My HTB is in Criklade..

When is your big day?

Laetitia (coriela)

Post Number: 448
Posted on Monday, November 01, 2010 - 9:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Jun,

No, you do not need to do anything as we are commonwealth country so it is recognised in UK. We have already confirmed this with the High Commission here. My friends who married British also has no issues.

I am not aware that we need to prove that my fiance is not married. Perhaps this does not apply to British?

Is your fiance not in Singapore now?

Laetitia (coriela)

Post Number: 449
Posted on Monday, November 01, 2010 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Jun,

If your fiance has never been married before, then a statutory declarations at ROM will suffice. There is no need for any other documents.

Have you booked your wedding venue yet?

Jun (junio)

Post Number: 26
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My Fiance is not in SG. He is in UK.

I am trying to get confirmation with Royal Plaza on Scott..

How about you Coriela?

Laetitia (coriela)

Post Number: 450
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 2:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Jun,

Wow he is in UK? Did you know each other in UK?
Must be hard planning wedding yourself. Let me know if you need plan or company to go vendor hunting ok?

My fiance is in Singapore. 

Jun (junio)

Post Number: 28
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 11:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Awwww.. Thank you soo much Coriela...

I will ask you along if you don't mind.. i am scared of signing at any bridal store.. i wanna make sure i found the right one..

Nice.. your Fiance is in Singapore.. Have you book with any bridal boutique?

I am flying off on 23 dec for xmas..

Laetitia (coriela)

Post Number: 451
Posted on Wednesday, November 03, 2010 - 10:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Jun,

no problem Jun. Always happy to help. Just ask me along whenever you need me, from venue to bridal store and any other vendor you will need for the wedding.

I tried to PM you but you are not accepting any PM>

Can you PM me and we chat off the forum? Think that might be easier.

JM (uschogm)
Username: uschogm

Posted on Wednesday, November 03, 2010 - 10:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello All, I need some advice and help. I am planning on a 2011 wedding. My FH is American, and the only time that his entire family can come to Singapore for a wedding is July of 2011 because his nephews and nieces have school holidays. My family believes in the six month superstition for half-brides. Therefore we cannot have the wedding in July, as my mother is vehemently against it, being the sixth month. I also want a church wedding too.

FH's idea is this, to have ROM in June, as a small affair, and then have the church and wedding banquet in July so that everyone can attend.

But we are not sure if this breaks the "six-month" bride superstition or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jun (junio)

Post Number: 30
Posted on Wednesday, November 03, 2010 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Coriela

My email is mp3girlx@yahoo.co.uk

I cannot PM you too.. hehee.. i wasn't aware that others cannot PM me. I have made some changes and hope it works..

:-)

cuclainne (cuclainne)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5760
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 11:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

what is a six-month bride superstition?

Jun, it's best that you clarify with ROM re: the marital status verification. 5 years ago, when i got married, it was required when i went to register for marriage, and my husband got his from the tax authority back in Sweden. It has to be an original, signed and stamped by an official. Also as it was in Swedish, it had to be translated into English.

Chloe Lim (cgal_withlove)
Username: cgal_withlove

Posted on Sunday, March 06, 2011 - 5:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi JM,

My very first posting hear since 3 weeks of browsing. I was also pondering what was six month bride superstition? Anyone can help?

Jun (junio)

Post Number: 373
Posted on Monday, March 07, 2011 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cuclainne: Yeah.. i did ask my HTB to get a letter from the register in UK

JM (uschogm)
Username: uschogm

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, March 07, 2011 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Six-month superstition is that if the bride is married in the sixth month of the Chinese calendar, that the marriage will only last half a lifetime since six months is half a year.

It's seldom observed, but for some it is a big belief.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use