| Author |
Message |

May Cheong (bewygirl)
New member Username: bewygirl
Post Number: 8 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 05, 2010 - 4:53 pm: |
|
my HTB and I also considered resale..i have seen 6 units, 3rm in matured estate bukit merah. COV ranged from 25K-80K. we really like 1 particular corner unit. is huge and needs minimal reno. Seller asking for 58K cash. when we went back to think about it, it was sold off for 38K cash tat very evening. Thus the COV can really be negotiated. good luck to those buying resale! |

pixiepixel (pixiepixel)
New member Username: pixiepixel
Post Number: 8 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Monday, May 10, 2010 - 11:17 am: |
|
hello just jumping into this thread im also buying resale, jurong east area 4rm usually owners asking for at least 35k cash, *sighs* and most of the units needs a major overhaul etc on another note, im selling my current (just turned 5 years) and asking cov for 60k....guess whatever cov i 'earned' will go into reno for the new place |

Green (green_tranquility)
Senior Member Username: green_tranquility
Post Number: 10636 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2010 - 1:15 pm: |
|
Pixel, At least u dun hav to fork out 35K cash from hard-earned savings like first-time buyers who have no property to sell hehe |

cam (liztan)
New member Username: liztan
Post Number: 100 Registered: 12-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2010 - 4:04 pm: |
|
I was hunting for a resale flat in clementi and this area is really crazy!! COV is so non-neg as most of the sellers are only selling for a profit not because they need to move or whatever. There was this unit (Executive) asking for 650K. Immediately after our viewing, the unit was sold for 650K!! no bargain at all. But the deal din went through in the end, the seller raise the selling price, in the end it was sold for 675K, what the seller is asking for... MInd you, these are 32years old flats. The new flats (less than 10years)in clementi, 4 room selling at above 550K. I can't help but think: am I buying a condo or what? |

Dilemmagal (dilemmagal)
Junior Member Username: dilemmagal
Post Number: 323 Registered: 5-2002
| | Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2010 - 7:53 pm: |
|
That's true. I juz bought a resale 4rm hdb flat in clementi in mid floor ard feb10 which i paid COV $45k, The flat is more than 20 years old. Luckily, there is not much renovation that I need to fork out. Willingly to pay that high COV because minor reno needs to do onli thus saving the reno costs |

Pattarin (pamm)
New member Username: pamm
Post Number: 2 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Monday, June 07, 2010 - 1:57 pm: |
|
Ooops just see this page... so I posted under another thread "Newbie to HDB..." hee I just got the Singapore "dream" proposal... The "let's get a flat then we can ROM ya" >.< BTO takes forever to complete so we've been looking for a resale flat for 1-2 months, very disheartening @_@ now the COV is $50k on average (yes! even the ulu area) Help me choose between these 2 scenarios 1. Buy 4rm flat 105sqm at Bukit Panjang Val = $345k COV = $35k 2. 4rm at Holland V 96sqm Val = $435k COV = $45k both are move-in condition, walkable to MRT/LRT (if I'm forced to) no need reno also both not near parents Of course my over-practical fiance prefers CHEAPER but it takes >1hour to go to my work in the East (or anywhere, for that matter). His work is at Jurong East / Clementi. Help!!!! I'm really undecided. |

James Yoo (james_yoo)
New member Username: james_yoo
Post Number: 1 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Monday, June 07, 2010 - 8:51 pm: |
|
Pattarin your PM is off. |

cam (liztan)
Junior Member Username: liztan
Post Number: 101 Registered: 12-2004
| | Posted on Monday, June 07, 2010 - 9:20 pm: |
|
huh, will choose 4rm holland. I've live in cck before, although very near mrt, it's still a faraway off from many parts of singapore. bukit panjang is LRT somemore, guess have to wait for a few more years for mrt. |

Pamm (pamm)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 09, 2010 - 9:50 am: |
|
My PM is on le ;] Thanks fr the advice! |

Ellen (ellentg)
Member Username: ellentg
Post Number: 759 Registered: 9-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 09, 2010 - 1:11 pm: |
|
imho, if no problem in financing the monthly installment comfortably, i will take Holland V at any time... the location is just too much better than bukit panjang. but do take note that holland's flats are usually older than bukit panjang ones... but your is 96 sqm i suppose it's the newer batch. |

Thomas (thommy)
Advanced Member Username: thommy
Post Number: 9639 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 09, 2010 - 1:20 pm: |
|
liztan: seems like the prices in clementi went up again...when I was asking ard late last yr, 4rm was asking btw 470 to 500k. Almost bought a unit there but luckily didn't cos managed to find a more central place which was nearer to my MIL's. dilemmagal: more than 20yrs old? I guess its not blocks 45x which are next to the mrt track...those are around 6yrs old. Seems like the COV I paid as compared to urs was a better deal hahahaha...although I still find it ridiculous. |

Dilemmagal (dilemmagal)
Post Number: 324 Registered: 5-2002
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 09, 2010 - 8:37 pm: |
|
Thomas: It's blk 35x,previously we are staying in central (near great world city), then we sold off bcos wanting to enrol my gal to school. So Kiasu rite. Where u bought and the asking price? I will probably needs to do some minor reno like polishing the marble. carpentary works in living and wardrobe. So overall my flat will cost abt $490k (including stamp duty/agent fee). Wat a high price paying. |

Thomas (thommy)
Post Number: 9657 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 10, 2010 - 9:20 am: |
|
dilemma: oic...wow central move to west, u can get used to it? find central areas so much more convenient...altho u gotta pay thru the roof to get one. bot a 4rm resale like u too in tiong bahru, cov neg to 35k (at that time I found it very high already) luckily mine in move-in condition also so I just did minor reno =) |

dydy (nineteenfeb)
New member Username: nineteenfeb
Post Number: 22 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, June 10, 2010 - 1:23 pm: |
|
Hi, new to this thread. bought a 4 room, 108 sqm at queens close in the month of feb this year. It is a 14 year flat. valuation: 465K and cov: 12k. I am slightly concerned. not sure if this is normal since my friends and family keep telling me that nowadays cov is about 20k n above. |

Thomas (thommy)
Post Number: 9673 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 10, 2010 - 2:24 pm: |
|
dydy: why shld u be concerned? if u can get it cheap, shld be happy right? or are u worried there's sth wrong with ur flat? |

dydy (nineteenfeb)
Post Number: 23 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Saturday, June 12, 2010 - 1:03 am: |
|
yup slightly concerned.. since I bought it just this year and it seems like the deal was too good to be true |

Pamm (pamm)
Post Number: 4 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Sunday, June 13, 2010 - 1:36 pm: |
|
hi hi dydy which blk on queen's close? you are soooooooooo lucky!!! is it high flr? or which flr? so big 104sqm the one i look was only 96sqm mine asked for $45k @_@ tried to nego but couldn't |

cam (liztan)
Junior Member Username: liztan
Post Number: 104 Registered: 12-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 24, 2010 - 11:19 am: |
|
I found that in my area, cov can be suprisingly low if "chinese ratio filled". Like sunset way, some asking for 100K, some asking 10K, still no takers, the latter happens to be "chinese ratio filled"... |

Dilemmagal (dilemmagal)
Post Number: 325 Registered: 5-2002
| | Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 10:42 pm: |
|
Thomas I'm planning to have only minor renovation for my coming 4rm resale flat. Can PM me your ID details and aso if u dun mind, can tell me wat reno you did for your house? |

dydy (nineteenfeb)
Post Number: 24 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Saturday, June 26, 2010 - 11:23 pm: |
|
hi hi Pamm, THanks! my one at blk 20. 5th floor. but since it is on the slope, it is looking at the 9th floor of the lower blks. I am getting the keys this coming wed!!! |

Thomas (thommy)
Post Number: 9944 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 28, 2010 - 3:44 pm: |
|
dilemma: pmed u |

Laura Mok (lauramok)
New member Username: lauramok
Post Number: 80 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 30, 2010 - 10:22 pm: |
|
Since COV is way too high, i was thinking why some ppl still can afford to pay 80-100k for a resale flat. My husband n i has been working for more than 10 years also cannot save more than 20k. some of my friends are below 30 years old yet they can afford cov 68k. haizz.. |

yaya (yakieyaya)
New member Username: yakieyaya
Post Number: 9 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Saturday, July 03, 2010 - 1:27 am: |
|
i just got mine, sembawang, 5I at $385+45 COV = $430. Now hdb are very X... =( |

Post Number: 10645 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, July 03, 2010 - 8:08 am: |
|
Laura, I know some people are taking personal loans from banks/parents to pay off part of the cov. That may explains why some people still can afford the cov. Banks loan up to 3 times of your personal income. |

Post Number: 10646 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, July 03, 2010 - 8:35 am: |
|
, and 1 person can apply for personal loans with multiple banks :X
|

Thomas (thommy)
Senior Member Username: thommy
Post Number: 10007 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Monday, July 05, 2010 - 4:10 pm: |
|
sembawang can also command 45k cov? kaoz... |

Post Number: 10654 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 06, 2010 - 5:43 pm: |
|
Thomas, Now there're already some 5-room units in Sembawang commanding valuations of ~420K alone. You can imagine the total price after adding COV component to the ~420K valuations. :P |

Dilemmagal (dilemmagal)
Post Number: 328 Registered: 5-2002
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 06, 2010 - 8:40 pm: |
|
I hv a hse agent sent regular updates email on toa payoh and bishan area. U know what the COV i saw a few units fetch more than $100k. 1 unit at bishan even asking for $150k. Tink something wrong in property market now. |

Thomas (thommy)
Senior Member Username: thommy
Post Number: 10036 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 07, 2010 - 1:52 pm: |
|
green: I nvr expected sembawang to have such high valuations also lol. guess everywhere in sg is not cheap to live in =P |