| Author |
Message |

potter (potter)
New member Username: potter
Post Number: 15 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 10:23 am: |
|
hihi me not using patrick but i love to come into this thread.. hope u all dun mind me joining. bearyhugs i am staying near bukit merah area!!! aeina i like the 2nd pcs too!!!! |

aeina (aeina)
Junior Member Username: aeina
Post Number: 295 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 11:47 am: |
|
Bearyhug, I know evershine but so expensive. A colleague bought a painting for S$500 plus. well.. i m not that sure if i m that generous. :P Potter, U r always free to join us. Have u renovated yr house?? Wow.. bt merah is expensive oh. The 2nd pc is called, "The starry night". Definitely one of my fav of Van gogh art. Wish i can owe that one. wonder if i should buy that. aww.... |

sUgArBaBe (sugarbabe)
Junior Member Username: sugarbabe
Post Number: 240 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 1:30 pm: |
|
hi!! me meeting Patrick tml evening!!!  |

chinnie (chinnie)
New member Username: chinnie
Post Number: 59 Registered: 2-2003
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 2:41 pm: |
|
Hi All, I'm also interested in engaging Ho Bee for my renovation. Can some kind soul send me their quotation so that I can have an idea of their pricing? My email is woofie5@asiamail.com Btw, on average, how many % are we able to cut from their initial quotation? Thanks in advance !!  |

fanyong (fanyong)
Junior Member Username: fanyong
Post Number: 283 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 4:57 pm: |
|
Hi bearyhugs, Ya.. that is my flat... whole house homo tiles...completing in around 2 weeks...Are u also thinking of doing whole house homo tiles? My hood and hob is from Mayer.. Think the brand is Delizia... haven install yet...
|

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Junior Member Username: bearyhugs
Post Number: 264 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 16, 2004 - 10:11 pm: |
|
Hi all, Anyone staying near Tampines then? Patrick also mentioned that he could bring us to this near completion flat at Tampines too. We are interested in parquet flooring but heard from Patrick that there's no one doing parquet for his clients base. A bit disappointing. Not sure how it might turn out. Fanyong, mind if I ask if you are in the teaching line? We are thinking of doing homogenous for whole house and parquet for bedrooms. |

wenn (wenn)
Member Username: wenn
Post Number: 1488 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Saturday, July 17, 2004 - 12:05 am: |
|
hi bearyhugs, i think the tampines flat owner should be sunsetbay. read his postings b4. u can find him at forums.hardwarezone.com  |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 284 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, July 17, 2004 - 8:50 am: |
|
hi bearyhugs, I not not in teaching line... y do u ask ? Are u a teacher? Hi Potter, Which part of Bukit Merah r u staying? |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 266 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, July 18, 2004 - 11:28 am: |
|
Hi Fanyong, Nope. I'm not in teaching line but just that I heard the owners of the near completion flat at bukit merah belongs to a couple who's a teacher. Thanks wenn, we went to that flat at Tampines. Not bad... They hacked the wall and joined two bedrooms into one and made a walk-in wardrobe.
|

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 285 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 9:26 am: |
|
Hi bearyhugs, Then maybe it is not my flat u r going to .... cos there are many pple doing homo tiles nowadays... wenn, My carpentry work going to start soon.... realise that my house v small so not much space on the kitchen cabinet top.... and realise I cant buy the corner swivel baskets liao cos no space for that.... But nvm, cos the lesser solid top area the less things will be placed in pple's line of sight... then it wont be too messy... cos I am the lazy type so if I see space on the solid top, I will put things on it... now I will be forced to place my things in the cabinet instead.. Hee |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1490 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:12 am: |
|
hi fanyong, ic ic... then u will get to save some $$$ aiyoh, my swivel oso caused some misalignment of the bottom cabinets with my hob. but can't be helped lah.... have to align with top cabinets oso.... me too, everything stuffed into cabinets... luckily, hubby din allow me to have all glass panels for the cabinets.... or else, everything can be seen :p hahaha.... |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 286 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:30 am: |
|
Hi wenn, Haha... Ya lor... save $$$. I also like frosted glass panels for my cabinets... but hubby dun like so in the end only one frosted glass at the dish rack.... Frosted glass shldnt be able to see through one.... I getting excited abt my flat liao.... more excited abt flat then wedding leh.... didnt really plan much for the weddng... will wait till flat settle first.. Any of you here having your customary soon?  |

potter (potter)
New member Username: potter
Post Number: 16 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:33 am: |
|
hi i m staying at telok blangah area.. new flat so kitchen is super duper small. |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1491 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:53 am: |
|
fanyong, ic ic... mine is 2 pieces of clear glass for the top cabinet din have the dish rack above sink becos i have a big window there. oso, hubby dun like it cos every time he places a wet dish in the rack, the water will run down his arm hi potter, sigh, boh pian lah... govt is building smaller & smaller flats.... yesterday, a relative from HK told us that their 2 bedroom apt only 46 sq meter ah! their kitchen is much smaller than those 3 room flats in SG. imagine, our 3 room flats is about 70+ sq m liao... |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 288 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 5:31 pm: |
|
Hi, My 4 rm flat is only 75 m sq... similar to 3 room flat size... |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 273 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:24 pm: |
|
Hi all, Anyone has tried using the blum system for their kitchen cabinets? I'm quite interested in using that. But rather costly; abt $50 per drawer. Plus the anti-slam system. It would be good as we wanted to do our kitchen cabinets without handles. |

sunsetbay (ssb)
New member Username: ssb
Post Number: 7 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 19, 2004 - 11:59 pm: |
|
Posted by bearyhugs (bearyhugs) on Sunday, July 18, 2004 - 11:28 am: Hi Fanyong, Nope. I'm not in teaching line but just that I heard the owners of the near completion flat at bukit merah belongs to a couple who's a teacher. Thanks wenn, we went to that flat at Tampines. Not bad... They hacked the wall and joined two bedrooms into one and made a walk-in wardrobe. i think u went to vivis & my home!! :D some of the things will be re-do, like one of the color of the bedrm will be repainted, the wall features, patrick will paint over it will smiliar cement color!! we dun hv fancy bathrms cos we wanna cut dwn the cost.. bt overall we still satisfy wif patrick service.  |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 290 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 8:50 am: |
|
Hi bearyhugs, What is blum system? My cabinet is also without handles.. |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 298 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 9:58 am: |
|
Hi Bearyhug, I m using blum system. Hee hee... but only for few drawers. really good. wenn, U r right. The house in HK is so small. ai yoh, hong kong serials are very misleading. Always show the house so big and nicely decorate. In reality, it is very crampy and small. Potter, How much did u pay for yr flat? Must be expensive rite?? By the way, my neighbour finally agree to use HDB to repair the toilet flooring. hee hee.. we met up with the MP yesterday. Hope my problem will be resolved soon. So happy.... |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 299 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 10:04 am: |
|
Fanyong, Blum is a brand for hinges or pull out system oh. Bearyhug, Mine is something like that.
 |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1503 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 10:11 am: |
|
Hey aeina, Glad that ur problem is solved. So happy for u  |

sUgArBaBe (sugarbabe)
Post Number: 251 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 10:12 am: |
|
hi gals, juz to chk with u!! is Patrick charging u all for installation of wash basin n sink?? cos me met up w him n he quoted me $60 fo rinstallation of wash basin, can negoitiate with him?? |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 301 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 10:47 am: |
|
Hi Sugarbabe, Same for mine. just checked on my quotation. he charged S$120 for 2 vanity/sinks installation. however, he gave us a lump sum of discount at the end so i think it is ok lor. u can negotiate with him for freebies. ask him to give u free things. |

sUgArBaBe (sugarbabe)
Post Number: 253 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 11:58 am: |
|
hi aeina, free things as in??? may i asked hw much disc. he gave u?? cos my hubby gg to ring Patrick up later for a disc. if nt convenient to say here, mayb can private msg me |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 292 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 12:26 pm: |
|
Hi, Usually, Patrick will round down the total figure at the end of the quote... so he will show the amt of discount in the quote. For me, I didnt ask him for freebies or any further discount when my hb sign the quote cos we find his price is good and we feel v comfortable to tok to him. Now my house doing reno and i dun have to worry abt it cos I trust him to do a good job... I think that is v impt. Anyway, Patrick is v accomodating... if u need some minor adjustments or small additions in the process of ur reno, I think he will give one, unless of cos for major changes then different. He is v nice, not calculative at all... Must really thank kk and aeina for recommending him.. Hi aeina, I think i know wat blum system is... it is those that will slow down the closing of the cabinets so that the cabinets dun slam in whenever u close it right? |

problem_kid (problem_kid)
New member Username: problem_kid
Post Number: 62 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 12:44 pm: |
|
hi fanyong, Yes the blum system works like that. Look forward to seeing your house. Must invite us ok? *hint* I'm your good fren from JC. |

jojok (jojok)
Junior Member Username: jojok
Post Number: 282 Registered: 8-2002
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 1:49 pm: |
|
Hi, Anyone has contact details for Patrick? joanhsl@singnet.com.sg |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1506 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 1:49 pm: |
|
We oso din ask for discount & Patrick gave it to us after we confirmed which tiles we wanna used. Anyway, his was the lowest quote & gives me my black galaxy granite kitchen top which makes me happy liao. Other contractors/IDs all refused to quote me that. Insisted that i use solid surface top.... |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1507 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 1:50 pm: |
|
hey jojok! nice to see u here will email u soon! |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 293 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 1:57 pm: |
|
Hi Problem kid, Any more hints on who u r..... Me got no ideas leh....sure will invite friends..... Hee |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 302 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 2:08 pm: |
|
Hi fanyong, Yeah, blum system for drawers work as anti-slam. Frankly, it is not a must to ve. U r most welcome. I was also introduced to Patrick via KK. In fact, i got many quotations and went to see many contractors thru recommendation here. Ha ha.. kinda of like paying it forward oh. Hi sugarbabe, Me didn't ask for further discount cos his price is lowest and he will round down the amt in his contract. For me, he helped me to install stainless pivot to my old windows, replaced my rusty poles holder for clothes hanging for free.. hmmmm... helped us installed metal pcs to secure our kitchen sink cos i bought an average stainless steel sink. We also got mops and pails left at our house after they cleaned our house. He even purposely came to my house just to install blinds for us. :PPPPP i know we really exploited him. My bf even wants him to come again to install the speaker for us. patrick is very nice to agree but i told my bf that we shouldn't bother him so much. |

sUgArBaBe (sugarbabe)
Post Number: 255 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 2:32 pm: |
|
oo... will tell my hubby tat lah.. thks |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 276 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 3:46 pm: |
|
Hi aeina, We are also very interested in using the blum system. Makes the cabinets look high tech and reduce noise when we close them. Safer too. How much did u pay for your blum systems? From where? By the way, can I also check if Patrick charges u guys haulage fees? Is it bargainable for that? Thanks. |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 277 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 3:49 pm: |
|
Hi sunsetbay, So the house that we went at Tampines belongs to you? We like your cement feature walls. R u guys going to paint over it? |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 304 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 4:26 pm: |
|
Bearyhug, I don't know how much i pay for it. Patrick gave me a lump sum for my cabinet. Again, we didn't bargain for haulage cos he is the cheapest of all. The rest quoted me so high for haulage cos mine is resales flat. sunsetbay, Wow.. i m keen to have a look at yr cement feature wall. Me have a pc of wall at foyer but not sure how to decorate it. How much did u pay for it? If possible, can show me the pic or not?? pls pls pls. |

problem_kid (problem_kid)
New member Username: problem_kid
Post Number: 63 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 5:23 pm: |
|
hi fanyong, Ai yoh still dunno who I am. I saw you at Club Chinois thread, then knew who u r liao. I'm your JC fren, recently our another good fren got married. Still not enough hints? |

Vivis De Tulips (vivis)
Junior Member Username: vivis
Post Number: 150 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 10:37 pm: |
|
Hi All, No time no hear. Hi Aeina, Glad that yr neighbour finally agree to do up his toilet area. Btw sunsetbay is my hubby. Hee... U wanna look at our feature wall ah? ok.. i'll ask him to upload for you hor cos the pictures are all with him. Hi bearyhugs, We onli intend to paint the feature wall at dinning area, As for living area, we'll leave it. The reason why we wanted to paint ovr is because we find the cement screeding not uniform. Patrick did warn us before but we didn't expect it to be one patch one patch lor. So we thought of painting cement colour over one of the feature wall and the other remains as it is. Furthermore, doing it on both walls dont really bring out the special effect. |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 279 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 20, 2004 - 11:52 pm: |
|
Hi Vivis, Thanks. Thought your cement feature walls were quite unique in a way. N we like the small little partition that Patrick had done up to divide the balcony and living area. Gave us some good ideas as to how we can partition off our dining space frm living area. |

sunsetbay (ssb)
Post Number: 8 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 12:18 am: |
|
aeina, here's the pic of my wall feature. not quite complete yet. the stainless steel strips protective plastic have nt removed. we may call patrick to repaint a cement like color over it. will take a better pic whn it's complete. the cost for the wall feature at living & dinning area is $1k++ so far, the feedbacks fm vivis's frens on the feature walls were quite negative, bt i felt it will look difference whn everything is completed & whn the furnitures are put in. bearyhugs, i got the cement wall feature ideas fm my fren's home & i requested patrick to do smething similiar. as for the low wall partition, it will hv a solid surface top & the wall will be painted, the low partition can either be seated or place some candles behind the glass blocks to create the ambience. we also intend to put a simple water feature on the balcony bt this will be the later stage whn we shifted in,  |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 280 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 8:44 am: |
|
Wow, Thanks for sharing with everyone. Sunsetbay. Did patrick charge u extra for the little partition wall?
|

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1509 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 9:47 am: |
|
Orrrrr... sunsetbay is vivis' lau gong Thanks for sharing the photo. A good idea leh! Frankly speaking, not many pple will have the same design sense as u or me. So just ignore those negative comments. Just stick to wat u like  |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 305 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 10:19 am: |
|
Hi vivis, Sunsetbay, Wenn and bearyhug, ha ha ha.. think we are the only creative person around. i think it is really unique and i love it too. It gives a rustic feel which i like very much. Those who have went to my house will remember the rustic tiles i choose for my foyer. Hee hee... me like it. I think once the furnitures are put in and with effect of the light, it will be power!!!
|

sunsetbay (ssb)
Post Number: 9 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 11:15 pm: |
|
hi bearyhugs, patrick did charge us for the little partition wall in his quotation. i think is abt $300. there's another half wall between living & kitchen which we will do a counter top, that one he din charge us as we make it a last min request when his contractor was hacking the kitchen wall. |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 284 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 21, 2004 - 11:58 pm: |
|
Hi sunsetbay, Now that u mention it, I rem hearing that from Patrick when we asked him too. Sorry, forgot abt that. By the way, what air conditioners system r u using? I saw that your air cons were already installed. Fridge and washing machine brands? Actually, is it really necc to build a fridge base? I saw one of my fren's house without fridge base n it looked better in fact. Aeina, can't wait to see pics of your completed furnished house with "power", esp when u bought your furniture from Widjaya right? I'm also doing resort style and intending to buy from there too. :> |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 307 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 11:13 am: |
|
Hi Bearyhug, I meant sunsetbay house is "power" after furnitures are in. Hee hee... i will definitely show u my pics once furnitures are in. Wihardja will take 2mths to deliver oh. I also bought at Home Merchant for my tv console. |

sunsetbay (ssb)
Post Number: 10 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 1:54 pm: |
|
hi bearyhugs, we r using samsung system 3, $1600. i not particular abt aircon cos i can live w/o it. haha... fridge & washing machine are taken fm vivis's parent home as they are shifting too to another place. we hv the washing machine base if u hv notice... which i think it's not necessary cos it's larger than i thot. for fridge base, i think it's ok to hv it. i think we also hv to think of maintenace whn designing a home, if one day we wash the kitchen flooring, we will hv hard time reaching the base of the fridge if there's no base beneath. initially i want to hv a suspend cabinet bt thinking of the extra area to clean & lesser space for the storage, we drop the idea although patrick told us the cost is abt the same.  |

wenn (wenn)
Post Number: 1511 Registered: 10-2002
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 2:02 pm: |
|
hi bearyhugs, we only have a fridge base. hubby din want a w/m base. he said buy those plastic boxes-thing to prop up can liao but hor, patrick's workers did some gradient for the floor. so that part where we placed the w/m is not even. ended up, we took 30 mins to adjust the legs of the w/m to get the correct flat gradient for the w/m. was so frustrated that i told hubby that if can't solve, i'm going to ask Patrick to do the base liao!  |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 308 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 2:12 pm: |
|
For the w/m base, i think i made a mistake of having my w/m built with my kitchen cabinet. I saw my friend has a w/m next to toilet and she can recycle the water to wash the floor and windows etc. The water of my w/m flow directly into the kitchen sewage pipe... sigh... never thot of that. Hi sunsetbay, I heard suspended cabinet will drop bit by bit as yrs go by. The gravity rule. Not very good if u r keeping a lot of things in the cabinet. So u have made a right choice not to have suspended cabinet. |

Serong (serong)
New member Username: serong
Post Number: 1 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 3:35 pm: |
|
Hi everyone, Had been sometimes since I last visit the SB forum and am very surprise to see this thread. We engaged Patrick for our home renovation too. Very please with the workmanship and two thumbs up for his service!!! Hubby and myself want to give him credit for transforming our bare flat into a new and cosy home... like some ladies here, we didnt really negotiate with patrick as we find his quotation very reasonable and most imptly, we are happy with the final results and service tat we get. I have absolutely no hesitation to recommend his service to any everyone on this forum. Good things must share right?? tat's the reason why we are here
|

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 311 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 4:13 pm: |
|
Serong, Where is yr place?? hee hee.. i am always curious to see people's house. Wanna to exchange house pics but my house's pic is still not complete cos my house still quite empty. I agree that good things must share but i also agree it got to do with affinity. sometimes, we might think it is good. other might think only so-so etc. really think it is an affinity for all of us here to engage same person. |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 288 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2004 - 8:17 pm: |
|
Hi all, Really comforting to hear that Patrick is receiving so many goody comments. Reassured us that we've made the right choice. Thanks for all yor comments. Decided to go ahead to build both the W/M & fridge base for lower maintenance in future afterall. By the way, we are not doing any feature wall to cover the bomb shelter door as the door is along a passageway to the bedrooms. Doing a tic tac door would make the opening of the door v diff (passageway too narrow). Any other ideas how we can comouflage the door? We thought of hanging those thick Nylon ropes (those that r used for curtains) over the whole piece of wall. Saw something like that at one of the showrooms before. Looks like a big curtain to a stage. |

fanyong (fanyong)
Post Number: 294 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 23, 2004 - 10:09 am: |
|
Hi gals, Patrick really is nice until no words can describe... I told Patrick I wan to keep one of the bedroom door to replace the old one at my mum's place. ( i am changing all my three bedroom doors so quite wasted to throw all the new doors away). So I told him the measurement of the door at my mum's place (slightly smaller) and ask him if he could help me to trim my new door to fit my mum's place door. Yest, I met up wif Patrick to confirm my house colours and cabinet design, he actually ask the door specialist to come and the specialist ask me for my mum's address so that he can go down personally to take exact measurements of the old door and frame then he will trim the new door to the exact size.. and he even offered to drive the door to my mum's place... all these without any costs... Patrick is really a v good contractor who goes the extra mile for you.. Wonderful...  |

Serong (serong)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Friday, July 23, 2004 - 11:26 am: |
|
Hi aeina, My place at punggol and is already fully furnished as renovation was completed since Sep last year. U staying in SK/PG area too?? I dont mind sharing but got to give me sometime to take the pix... Hey fanyong, wow... seems like patrick's really going the extra mile to help... happy for you  |

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 315 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, July 23, 2004 - 2:13 pm: |
|
Fanyong, Patrick always goes extra mile. He also dissembled the ex-owner's aircons for us and sent them to my bf's house for free. There are also many little things that he did for us. i think he is really wonderful. My colleague also said love his personality and attitudes. |

Vivis De Tulips (vivis)
Post Number: 151 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, July 25, 2004 - 3:56 pm: |
|
Hi All, I agree that we shldn't really take negative feedback to heart. Anyway, if we feel that 1 wall feature is unique, we'll keep it. Even though some elderly cant take that kind of "unfinish" surface. Haha..... Recently I juzt shifted to my bro hse, so cant visit this website do often until my bro apply a telephone line. nw at my lao gong hse surf net. hee... Patrick just brought a couple to our hse to view his workmanship.They also knew him through this forum. Think Patrick no need to get a showflat liao. Haha....
|

Serong (serong)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 26, 2004 - 5:09 pm: |
|
Hey bearyhugs, you've been to the showflat at punggol central?? hop over yesterday w hubby to kaypo... dont really like the decor but tot you can copy their idea of camouflaging the bomb shelter door... The designer had treated the bombshelter as if it's a window and hung a full length curtain to cover it up. Hi Vivis, I agree with you... he brought a few couples to our place too. He has been such a nice person so hubby and I didnt mind helping him.  |

bearyhugs (bearyhugs)
Post Number: 295 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Monday, July 26, 2004 - 10:22 pm: |
|
Hi Serong, Nope. Didn't go down to the Punggol showflat at all. But went down to a showflat by one of the reno companies and saw this Nylon rope concept to cover the bomb shelter door. Can check what kind of floor tiling did u do, serong? Parquet by any chance? Patrick was telling us that none of his clients had done any parquet, so we r still deciding if we should do it.
|

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 316 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 11:33 am: |
|
Hi Bearyhug, Nylon rope concept sounded rather unique. Never actually see it but definitely sounded interesting. My cents of thot for parquet is good to see but hard to maintain. My cousin has a semi-d house and her 2nd flr is using parquet. according to her, easily scratchable and need to polish every few yrs. When engaging specialist to polish, the whole place is very dusty and dirty. She doesn't recommend me that. She told me to use laminate so i did. ;) If u really like the wood feel and classy look, go for timber strip. Heard it is much better than parguet but expensive too. |

Vivis De Tulips (vivis)
Post Number: 153 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 3:57 pm: |
|
Hi All, Can anyone share hw & wat we shld use to clean laminating flooring to prevent it from popping.
|

aeina (aeina)
Post Number: 317 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 27, 2004 - 4:10 pm: |
|
Hi vivis, I found this on the web. Find it quite useful. Recently, i bought a bottle of sofix for parquet. Also meant for laminate. really good. I used the undilute solution, pour on cloth and wipe on my laminate flr for master bedroom. Can feel a difference. It gives a layer of protection compared to the other bedrooms which i only use dilute solution with water. I used in master bedroom cos i used the toilet in it frequently. Laminate floors are easy to care for and hard to damage. Here's how to maintain them properly. Steps: 1. Read the warranty and care instructions for your flooring. Follow the instructions and keep them where you can refer to them if a problem develops. 2. Vacuum and then damp-mop laminate floors. Don't wet-mop, because puddles could seep behind basebords and seep under your floor and damage it. 3. Do not apply wax or acrylic floor finishes. 4. Use the stain-removal products recommended by the flooring manufacturer. Acetone (for nail-polish spills and cigarette burns) and mineral spirits (for tar and grease) are typical suggestions in product literature. 5. Put down doormats at doorways that lead to the outdoors or garage. These will trap grit that could gradually cause light scratching on the surface of the laminate floor. 6. Put protective easy-glide buttons on the feet of furniture. 7. Use a dolly when moving a heavy appliance or large piece of furniture across a laminate floor. You could leave a scratch if a tiny pebble gets caught under a wheel or furniture foot that you're sliding across the floor. Tips: Take common-sense precautions to protect the floor when working with sharp, heavy objects. For instance, put down a thick tarp or carpet scrap to protect the floor when installing a ceiling fan and using a drill; if you drop it you could damage the floor.
|