Topics Topics Help/Instructions Help Edit Profile Profile Member List Register Edit Profile Home  
Search Last 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding * Home And Deco * HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS * Archive through April 28, 2005 < Previous Next >

celia (hello88)
Username: hello88

Post Number: 269
Posted on Thursday, April 14, 2005 - 11:00 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi bearyhugs,

thanks. The letterhead of my quotation from him shows AMK Blk 3043...anyway, we drove past there the other day and no signboard and saw quite a number of workers there doing carpentary works

Cecill (cecill)
Username: cecill

Post Number: 17
Posted on Friday, April 15, 2005 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Print Post

rockbaby, I think I mistaken... I am doing the concrete top for my master toliet basin. No picts yet, sorry...
But are you referring to the below? this is not from my hse but copy from a website.

concrete w sink

my_rock_baby (my_rock_baby)
Username: my_rock_baby

Post Number: 46
Posted on Saturday, April 16, 2005 - 6:36 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi cecill,
hmmm actually not like that... just imagine the part where your sink is, instead of wood all around, it is concrete loh :-)
I have just sign the quotation with Patrick this morning. Afternoon when to Balestier to buy all the lights for my house, $750 + $38 for 6those screw, etc for installation. Will get the lights worker to install for me, as I have bargain with them till no need to pay installation fee heee.

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 18
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 12:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

rockbaby, I guess I finally understand what it is. My parents' kitchen concept is like that and the cabinet solid top is level with the concrete top.

you are really ahead of time, we bought our lights after the living flooring is completed. currently waiting for the carpentry to start.

we got our air-cons from Hong Tat so they will be doing the installation.

Targeting to move on 1st May.

Nelson (beagle)
Username: beagle

Post Number: 95
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 2:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi rock_baby..
Just curious.. May i ask if you buy any PLC down lights? How much is 1?

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 281
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 2:20 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Did a check and found the following:-

Licence No. HB-02-0225Z
Company Name HO BEE RENOVATION PTE LTD
Licence Holder MS THO LEE KWEE
Licence Expiry Date 31/01/2006
Address 5A, DEFU LANE 8, S(539310)
Telephone No. 62916661/67885841
Fax No. 67889384

Anybody know why? The letterhead of my quotation from Patrick is Blk 3043 AMK Ind Pk 1. Contact numbers are the same as above.

Hi Cecill,

Hong Tat would be installing your air-con....any idea how do we ensure air con man do not shortchange us as there's different types of 'piping' used and heard that's the reason why diff air con shop charges differently. Read from one thread that G**n *i*y not honest and shortchange its client by installing those inferior materials. Don't how true.

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 19
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi celia, your question was raised in the earlier discussion, see this thread... perhaps this info will help:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/106460.html?1086335706

the air con contractor showed us the kind of piping they used for which air-con and we make sure we are around the day they are installed the air con so that we can see them doing a proper job. so far I am satisfied with their service.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 285
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 3:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill,

yours system 3? what brand and inverter or non-inverter? Air-con to be up before what reno? Sorry ask so many questions

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 20
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 5:50 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

celia, it's ok. I enjoy talking abt hse reno and share ideas.

was considering of getting the inverter sys 4 but now went for single sys (living) and sys 3 non-inverter. So we have with 2 compressor (only possible for those newer flats). after consulting HT and they did a calculation on our aircon consumption, we chose this to save on our electricity bill. my usage is low and I don't turn on all units together at one time/all the time. so a non-inverter will be have more saving.

got a Mitsubishi StarMex Easy Clean.

Nelson (beagle)

Post Number: 100
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 6:07 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill..
i'm thinking of your combination too. Can share with me your cost and the company you got the air con from?

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 290
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 6:13 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I havent get any quotes as I'm just planning ahead. Heard system 4 inverter would cost about 3k plus. I might get my selected ID to recommend. I checked neec.gov.sg and found energy saving brand for inverter is only Mit and Daikin. I would prefer Toshiba

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 9:24 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I did not do any false ceiling or L-box, so I did not buy any downlights (save money!!!).
I have also just called CoolS*rv* (replace * with e) to do the installation of my aircon. I choose Toshiba System 3 non-invertor, also due to low usage.

to2ro (babyt0t0ro)
Username: babyt0t0ro

Post Number: 4
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 11:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Celia,
I think the aMK ind park 1 is where their capentry workshop address.. went to ind park 1 last weekends to visit one of the capentry there.. c alot of capentry workshop there too..

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 294
Posted on Monday, April 18, 2005 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

ya...saw a few men doing carpentary at the unit which did not have any signboard. The letterhead of Patrick's quotation indicated the address at AMK. Read from one of the post in this thread that he's setting up a showroom at Sungei kadut.

So far, any clients of Ho Bee been to the office?

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 21
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 9:24 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi nelson,

got it at less than $3500. the co name is mentioned earlier.

Nelson (beagle)

Post Number: 102
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 10:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Oh blind me... is HT or Hong tat ... thks..

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 22
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 10:15 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Website of Hong Ta*(replace with 'r')

http://www.neec.gov.sg/els/EEPIC.shtm

marathon (marathon)
Username: marathon

Post Number: 11
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Back to the aircon topic again. I heard Starmex EASY CLEAN is quite good. Although internally it has the same specs as the old Starmex, but it can be easily opened up for us to do the cleaning ourselves e.g. vacuuming. Of course we will still need to get the aircon people to come down to service our units every few years. I bought Starmex Sys3 @1599 and top up $200 to the Easy Clean one.

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 23
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 11:20 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi marathon, you also got starmex easy clean. when i booked my starmex aircon, there wasn't this easy clean sys yet so i top up cash for the sys1+sys3. Besides the features, I like the look of this than the old one.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 296
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 10:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Anyone installed inverter? either system 3 or system 4?

Nelson (beagle)

Post Number: 103
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Print Post

May i know the trend for the prices of air con? Does it normally go down like electronic gadgets? Is exhibition prices for aircon cheaper than contacting them directly?

Thks in advance..

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 24
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Celia,
I was also considering to get a sys 4 inverter but after doing some calculations based on est no. of hrs we turn on the aircon, we felt that it is not suitable. Inverter is meant for heavy users, those who turn on their air-con throughout eg. home office.

Hi Nelson,
I am not sure abt the exhibition prices but you should check out at both plcs. There are many aircon shops in IMM. can compare prices and find out the kind of materials they provide for the pipings.

for more info, can go to this link -http://singapore-aircon.blogspot.com

Amelia & rockbaby,
what's the updates of your reno with Patrick? My carpentry works will start tomorrow.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 312
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 12:28 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill,

here's an extract from another forum

"Most people shun off inverter aircon because of the high initial cost but never think of the benefits. Most inverter aircon saves u loads of electricity, tested and proven. You would get back ur initial cost by say 2 years? or less? Inverter aircon is much more comfortable. Anyone has experience sleeping with aircon n always remove blanket cause too hot then put blanket again cause too cold. You won't have such problem with inverter aircons. I've got the following points to add.

1. Don't compare brands because of price.
Example: Brand X might offer you system 3 at $2000 and Brand Y offer you system 3 at $1000. Don't jump in and get Brand Y straight, check the specs. What's the cooling capacity of the individual fancoil that both brand offers. What's the capacity of the condensing unit. Brand X might be able to cool all 3 rooms when turned on where as Brand Y could only manage 2.

2. Don't compare companys because of price.
Almost like the above. Company X and Company Y both sells Brand X system 3. Company X quotes u $1000 where Company Y quotes you $1500. Ask for the specs. Company X might give u same brand but a low capacity CU or fancoil.

3. After sales service.
There's many china brands out there which is cheap and looks good but if they break down, are you assure that those contractors outside knows how to fix them? Spare parts are they avaiable? Go for well establisb brands which are known for their after sales service.

4. Installation.
Like someone mentioned, installation is very very important for an aircon system. No matter how good the aircon system is how expensive it is, if the installation sucks. Thats if for you. If you buy a particular brand, find their authorised dealer.

Lastly, ask urself what's the usage of your aircon. Only 1 room always on at nite? or all 3 run at nite? Or all 3 on 24hrs? All these makes a huge difference. Get a good dealer to recommend. They should do the job. Inverter is what i would recommend for sure. =)

Just my 5 cents worth.
*Note i'm not here to sell or promote and brands/company. No brand nor company name is mentioned. I've enough of people framing me when i'm just trying to help. "

"If there's only 1 of the 3 rooms that is on always. Inverter is obviously the choice. Why? Non inverter basically is stupid LOL. Only know 2 things. On and Off. So the compressor keeps on cutting in when the temperature is not cool enough. Inverter has a circuit board inside that is SMART! =) For a start it doesn't cuts in just like that, it gradually cuts in thus the power consumption is low n once it reaches the required temperature it doesn't shut down, it goes down to a constant and operates. The cutting in and out kills the compressor. Trying playing with ur room switch on and off always. =P Just an example for you. Lets call it Brand Z.

Lets assume you are using a non inverter system 3. Operating the aircon in 1 room would take 1490watts per hour. Operatiing 2 room would be 1520watts. Operating 3 would use 1600watts.
Now for the inverter one.
Running in 1 room would take 780watts(400-1050) . 2 would be 1550watts(460-2220) whereas 3 would be 1660watts(510-2100).Notice there's a ( )? Eg. Room 1. 780watts(400-1050) means. The average power consumption is 780watts. When the compressor cuts in it starts at 400watts, the highest it goes would be 1050watts. Once it hits the required temperature it goes down n uses about 780 watts constantly. Thats the magic of inverter. See the difference between them? Lets say u uses a non inverter n on 1 room for 8 hours a day? 1490 x 8 x 28days = 333.76kW per month. Which is rougly $53 per month just for the room. Inverter would be 780(just take the constant) x 8 x 28days = 174.72kW per month, which would be $28. That's a huge difference from my point of view.

Hope my example ain't that confusing. =p The power consumption i gave above is quite close to the actual spec of a certain brand. I didn't make them up. =) Just trying to give an example. It applies to every brand of inverter aircons. So its your pick. "

Note again, the above are extracts from another forum

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 25
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 3:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Tks for the info celia. perhaps I am wrong but what I know is that the sys 4 inverter is not so powerful in cooling the whole living/dining room due to the BTU so we chose the non-inverter type. Single sys at 24BTU.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 313
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill,

we learnt abit everyday. I havent decided on whether to get inverter or non-inverter and would check with my ID when my place is due for reno in few months time.

Yours got 2 compressor? 1 single unit for living room and system 3 for bedrooms? What brand? Mit?

Post Number: 48
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 5:39 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

today went to my flat to see see look look ... thought I will be able to see a few pieces of tiles done at least.... but what I see is one BIG heap of sand and cement haaaa.... 2 workers working on the floor, one I think is that Loud voice uncle, another one don't know who. anyway I see that they have disemble both my toilet bowl and one of them is working on the kitchen waterproofing layer... ok lah, anyway today is only the 3rd day they start work :-)

cutebao (xun_ng)
Username: xun_ng

Post Number: 42
Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2005 - 11:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I just got my new 5rm standard, can anyone share their Ho Bee quotations with me? my email is chuipeng@ftsl.com.sg

Interrace (interrace)
Username: interrace

Post Number: 41
Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2005 - 4:03 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

so am i right to conclude that inverter system 3 is better to get than a non-inverter system 3 ?

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 326
Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2005 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Like what I've posted...got to depend on your usage

Post Number: 49
Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2005 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi marathon, did u also get Hong Ta* to do your installation for the star mex easy clean? hmm was thinking of getting toshiba, but then the unit really like very "plastic" leh .... haaaa. Saw the starmex easy clean today ... hmm looks nicer :-)

anyone already got Hong Ta* to do the installation? How was it? very afraid that the installation not done properly later a lot of problem (this is what happen to my current house aircon, ended up got to complain to CASE))

Josnah (josnah)
Username: josnah

Post Number: 41
Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2005 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi my rock baby,

i also got the Starmex Easy Clean Sys 3. my trunking will be done next Tues.

if u are interested, can pm me for details.

marathon (marathon)

Post Number: 13
Posted on Friday, April 22, 2005 - 10:20 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi rock baby, I used twin city to do the installation. Do take note that for higher capacity fancoil e.g. 18k or 24k ones, I was told that the unit cannot be easily opened up unlike the 9k ones. But if you are going for the exterior, it still look better than the old StarMex model.

Hi Josnah, how much did you pay for your syst. 3?

Post Number: 50
Posted on Friday, April 22, 2005 - 11:16 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi, just want to check. Did Patrick do any kitchen cabinet design for you to see before he proceed with the kitchen cabinet carpentry? Forgot to ask him this when I sign the quotation heee.
Also, have anyone of u ask Patrick to constract a bracket for your fish tank. hmmm I want to hang my fish tank at the wall and Patrick said he is able to do it for me. But when I talk to the lady selling the fish tank, she said the contractor needs to be very skilful and he needs to used very good metal to do the base, etc... and if not done properly, the whole fish tank could easily drop down and shattered and may caused injury to anyone standing near it...alamak, make me sweat when i hear it. In case u are wondering why I did not get those "professional" to do it... welll due to $$$$ again! I check with Alantis and they charge $1000+ for it!!! siao right? aiyo, don't know should I continue to get Patrick to do such risky thing for me leh~~ haaa

Post Number: 54
Posted on Saturday, April 23, 2005 - 7:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Today go and see my flat again. The overlaying of 2 toilets' floor tiles are completed. The piping also changed to copper ones. Kitchen waterproofing done. Now they are in the process of building the kitchen cabinet kerd.
hmmm the tilings for the living/dining room not started yet..
here's some picture ...
overlay toilet floor tilescopper pipingkitchen cabinet kerdsmall kerd to conceal washing machine water pipingSAND!!!

Josnah (josnah)

Post Number: 45
Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2005 - 12:06 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hi my rock baby,

my kitchen wall colours are also the same colour as yours.
wat colour have u chosen for your kitchen cabinet? i'm having a tough time deciding on the colours.
i'm also getting the sink support in concrete blocks covered with homo tiles.

Post Number: 55
Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2005 - 10:26 am:   Edit Post Print Post

ya, I also find that this color wall tiles not easy to match color. At first I wanted to have green cabinet, then my mother think it look very "malay"....I ask Patrick and he said grey not bad. My kitchen floor tiles will be off white, so I can also have some off white pieces in my cabinet, together with grey. See how first... haven really choose the color yet.
I'm glad that I decided todo the concrete sink top, at least now no need to worry about my cabinet rotting over the years :-)

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 365
Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2005 - 12:08 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi my_rock_baby and Josnah,

Both of u having concrete sink top? Is it granite as I thinking of having granite top and finished with cremaic/homo tiles by the side for my sink and hob. May I know how much did your ID quoted u for the concrete sink top?

Post Number: 56
Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2005 - 6:11 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

My concrete sink top is about 1 m in length, using homogenous tiles (not using granite because costly and hard to maintain). He quote me about $700. My hob area is wood, not concrete.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 372
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 9:41 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi my_rock_baby,

$700 not inclusive of sink right but is it inclusive of cabinet finishing at the bottom?

Josnah (josnah)

Post Number: 46
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 1:19 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi celia & my rock baby,

my concrete sink support in homo tiles (the sink is not included). my hob area also same as rock baby's. but my worktop is black galaxy.

my hubby & I finally chose to ignore the wall tile colours.
we finally got reddish brown tiles & laminate for the sink support & cabinet. and beige floor tiles, which looks a bit dirty with bluish grey marks on it.

initially we chose grey, but personally i dun like the dull look... try to go down to the tile showroom with ur laminate catalogue & decide on your colours. that's wat we did.

Post Number: 57
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 2:07 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

ya, sink is not included (anyway my sink is big single bowl which I bought at a discounted price.) But I do have 2 pieces of laminate doors for the concrete area, $200. I choose a grey homo tiles with blank and white dots, and it comes in shiny and non-shiny. The shiny one is for the exterior, the non-shiny is for interior.
Josnah, did u get Patrick to install the lights for u? or u get the person selling the lights to do so?

Josnah (josnah)

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 2:17 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi my rock baby,

he he... i'm in the wrong place.
my contractor is not Ho Bee...

ur laminate doors come with shelving?. cos' my ID quote the doors more ex than the cabinet's pfr price.

my ID will be installing. the lighting shop prices for installing was not so cheap also, just a dollar lesser.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 376
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 2:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi my rock baby,

how much did patrick charged u for the whole finishing for the sink?

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 27
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi rockbaby
My installation of aircon just completed on Friday by Hong Ta*. We are pleased with their installation and they provide 1 year warranty on installation.

regarding kitchen cabinet, I have blue wall tiles so I chose white laminate and white solid top. my floor tiles are grey similar like bearyhug's.

Patrick's carpenter will sketch the drawing at your hse. But you must tell him your requirement - what kind of layout you prefer and what handles. My kitchen cabinet is almost done, now left with my corian top.

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 378
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 3:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill,

remember to show us pics ok?

my rock baby and Cecill,

How many designers does Patrick has? Only Norman?

Post Number: 58
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 3:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi celia,
I haven seen any of Patrick designer.

Hi Josnah,
Thge $200 is just for the 2 piece laminate door. No shelving in the concrete area because that area not big, doing the shelving is a bit "blocking way". Also, the reason why do concrete for that sink area is to prevent water from touching the wood and causing the cabinet to collapes. So it don't sound right to do wood shelving in the concrete area. Unless u are refering to concrete shelving ... but won't it bew very think?
My mum also have a concrete area for her sink and it is really big, I think about 1.5m. So she put all her pots, detegent and cooking sauces (cooking oil, sesame oil, etc) in there. I think with my 1m concrete area, I can only squeeze in pots and detegent :-)

Hi Cecill,
post your kitchen photo here leh ... very interested to see how it is like :-)

Guess what, yesterday I went shopping at Thomson Plaza and I saw that fish tank that can hang on the wall!!!! And they are selling at $500 (after discount and include installation)!!!! aiyo I faster grab :-) so happy. Too bad I use my hp to take picture and I don't know how to transfer to my pc :-(
So now, I have to sell away that fish tank that I juast bought last Wednesday ... anyone interested please let me know :-)

celia (hello88)

Post Number: 379
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 3:58 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi my rock baby,

we so eager to see your fish tank. U may use your handphone to forward to pic to your email a/c then u'll have the pic in yr pc so can show it to us :-)

Lau Pey Lin (paulinelau)
Username: paulinelau

Post Number: 38
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 7:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Sorry to interrupt a bit. I hope to have black granite top for my kitchen cabinet. BUT what I normally see in the magazine is that they normally match black granite with white cabinet. HOWEVER, I find it difficult to maintain white cabinet.

Can anybody suggest a matching color for black granite top. I prefer the colors that will not cause the kitchen to be too dull.

marathon (marathon)

Post Number: 14
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 7:15 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Cecill,
So Patrick's carpenter will just draw the design of the carpentry on site with you? Don't you have prior meetings with his designer to finalize the design of the carpentry works before work commences?
Just would like some feedback on the design aspects of Ho Bee designers i.e. in general how do you find their design concepts and how often do they work with you? Of course I wouldn't expect ID firm kind of design services but certainly they will provide 3D perspective drawings right?
Many thanks!

Amelia (waterbaby)
Username: waterbaby

Post Number: 35
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 10:30 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

My reno is going smoothly..no hiccups at all.You can trust patrick to do a gd job.

sorry hor...i am sick and dizzy...cannot read thru the whole thread.You girls can PM me if you have any questions.:-)

Amelia (waterbaby)

Post Number: 36
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 10:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Design aspect they are alright.My only carpentry is the kitchen cabinets so cannot comment much.Ah Kiong will draw out the design and ask where we are agreeable then proceed to construct the cabinetry.

Post Number: 59
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 10:42 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

wow Ah Kiong can do drawing also huh :-) ... thought he only do carpentary. So people here recommend him for carpentary ... I will probably get him to do mine also :-)
Actually I so kuku, I heard my colleague say contractor don't do drawing, so I borrow her ID kitchen drawing and amend myself, and was plannaing to let Patrick see haaaa. now no need liao :-)

Amelia (waterbaby)

Post Number: 37
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2005 - 11:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

my rock baby,

Yup he draws quite well actually...you don't have to worry.:-)

marathon (marathon)

Post Number: 15
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 12:21 am:   Edit Post Print Post

What about 3D perspective drawings? Do they provide?
And what about lightings ambience? I feel its an important aspect in the home design.. Are his designers strong in this area? Personally I'm quite lousy in design, so need a good designer to assist..

Post Number: 60
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Print Post

gee I thought only ID firm will have 3D perspective drawings (that's why getting ID is more expensive because this is part of their "service")??
for me, just a drawing on paper is sufficient :-)
Actually for lightings, I just bring my floorplan to Lights Arcade (recommended shop by asome forumers in another thread) and ask the boss for advices. He is able to give me good advices on that, like areas in household shelter and toilets can use the cheap hamburger lights ($20 per lights, white light). Kitchen can use bigger hamburger lights ($38 per lights, white light). Living room should use nicer lights since people will see ($120 per lights... I choose one that can match the theme of my living room, warm lights). Dining room I use handing lights ($89, warm light) + 2 nicer pattern white lights. Passageway I choose a yellow light which looks like a small crystal. 3 bedroom I use curvy square white lights with color rim (blue/red rim to match the color of the walls in each room). The boss said that no one will be so mad to on ALL the lights in the house at one time, so it is ok to match white and yellow/warm lights. U need to know at what time u will on what lights, etc then u will know what color u need. U also needs to know what kind of activities u will carry out in each part of the house, eg. some people do homework in living room, so cannot use warm or yellow lights as it will be hurting for the eyes, etc. all my lights are ENERGY SAVING onces and the bulb must be easily replaceable. Though I did not install downlights (I don't do any false ceiling or L-box, so I can use the money to do other things), but I heard the boss told me normally people will choose downlights with glass panel for bedrooms only because when they lie down on bed, they can see the downlights, and with the glass in front it will not be too glaring for the eyes. For living room/dining room, no need the glass panel because people will not look up to the ceiling for no reason. Downlights with glass panel in front or more expensive. Square downlights are also more expensive than the usual round ones.
Take a walk along Balestier and you will be spoilt for choice (I walk there myself for 2 saturdays and manage to get all my lights from Lights Arcade .... can also save cost for installation because they charge me $38 for installing all lights, after some bargaining heee. Normally it will cost $8 to install per light and Patrick charge $10 for installing per light).

marathon (marathon)

Post Number: 16
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 12:00 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks rock baby for the great feedback! I'll certainly go to light arcade to try also. Who could I look for? For me, I'll still prefer more drawings for better visualization. Thanks!

Post Number: 61
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 1:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

There's only 2 person in Lights Arcade, the boss I think call Thomas (aiyo cannot remember his name), the gal call Jen.

Cecill (cecill)

Post Number: 28
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 4:21 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi celia, rockbaby...
regarding picts of my hse, have not taken the completed works yet... will do so once I move-in my furnitures etc.

maranthon, patrick is the boss and he has 1 designer working for him, his name is Malcom. initally malcom did a layout drawing to show us before work commence. but later stage his carpenter ah kiong did the drawings for all the carpentry works shortly before the actual works abt to begin. Patrick is very reasonable in his pricing as he is not a high-end ID co. my hubby & I came up with the designs we want for our hse by looking at magazines and patrick will advice us.

Lights - patrick quoted me package price for rewiring and installation for whole hse (5rm resale). can pm me if you wish to know the exact.
I got my lights from E Lite illumination located at Jalan Bersar, can bargain w/ them. they also advise base on floorplan. they have a website www.e-lite.com.sg

rockbaby, where is your hse? is it in woodlands?

Post Number: 62
Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 - 8:37 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

my house in Punggol, 5 room also.

Post Number: 63
Posted on Thursday, April 28, 2005 - 10:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

My fish tank is something like this. Instead of rectangle, it is square in shape.

http://kooltanks.com/promo/port.php

Topics | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use